Garrison behavior

Place bug reports / questions here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Post Reply
Tnarg
Colonel
Posts: 282
Joined: Feb 06 2008

Garrison behavior

Post by Tnarg »

I am trying to figure out Garrison behavior or what factor determines what year level, (330='0, 352='28, 331='52, 332='83, 680='111, 333='130). I note the tech requirement for each of these, but am just trying to figure out the logic on which ones are chosen by the ai' when they place them. One country is placing '83 garrisons(Unit ID 332), while in the same game, the defender is placing '130 garrisons(Unit ID 333), and their tech is no where near that.

The WMDATA file lists this order:

unitgarrison, 330, 352, 331, 332, 680, 333
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 22106
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Garrison behavior

Post by Balthagor »

Had to do some digging to remember this. Garrisons progress every time a player gains +1 "level" of effect 96. These are the techs that affect level;

1696 Land Force Improvements (1928)
1535 Military Production Level III (1952)
1536 Military Production Level V (1983)
161 Land Warrior Systems (2014)
1788 Future Military Designs II (2039)

Each of those has effect 96, value 1.

Each time a player completes one of those, their garrison unit type progresses through the following order as determined in the WMData file;

330 Garrison 1900
352 Garrison 1928
331 Garrison 1952
332 Garrison 1983
680 Garrison 2014
333 Garrison 2039
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
Tnarg
Colonel
Posts: 282
Joined: Feb 06 2008

Re: Garrison behavior

Post by Tnarg »

Thank you for taking the time to find this information. What I am seeing, in several sandbox games 2017, 2018, 2020 (base game only, SRU) is that in many cases Garrison 2011 (ID680) needing Land Warrior Systems is skipped, and many countries go directly to Garrison 2030 (ID333) which requires Future Military Designs II. It seems that ID333 is a default; however, some countries, usually lower in the tech tree utilize appropriate year level garrisons, so it has my interest in getting this fixed. I understand that SRU is no longer being worked on, but I would be happy to fix this if I could understand the mechanics and know which files to look at to solve it.

I did a test and added an extra garrison level beyond the 2030 level (ID333) just to see what would happen. I assigned tech requirement Future Military Designs III (ID1790) to it, and added this unit ID# to the appropriate WMDATA file. Rechached and took a look. Sure enough, the default garrison was this latest design that I added.

My conclusion is that the garrisons work as intended up to garrison 1983, ID 332. But then it appears that it will just skip the next level, garrison level 2011, ID680, and just jump to the last garrison listed on the WMDATA file.

I have searched up if others have reported garrison 2030 showing up as default garrisons and found a couple of other posts.

https://steamcommunity.com/app/314980/d ... 925600629/

https://steamcommunity.com/app/314980/d ... 669137717/

This probably would not bug me too much, but I am working on the 80sAndOn Mod, the WMDATA file garrison line and garrisons in the Unit file are unchanged. But it is annoying to see many of the countries in 1980 skipping 2011, and going directly to 2030 garrisons. I have some work around solutions, but just wanted to see if there is anything in any other files that might be connected to this so that I can fix it before doing so.

Thank you for your time and assistance.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 22106
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Garrison behavior

Post by Balthagor »

If your observations are correct, that sounds like a flaw in the code, not in the data files. I've opened ticket 36178 to investigate, but it will take a while for us to get to this ticket. We appreciate the level of detail you've provided.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
Tnarg
Colonel
Posts: 282
Joined: Feb 06 2008

Re: Garrison behavior

Post by Tnarg »

Appreciate you all looking into this. If it was a code issue, would this be applied to SRU or just SR2030?
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 22106
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Garrison behavior

Post by Balthagor »

If it's code, we can only fix it for SR2030. There is no compiler set up for SRU anymore, hasn't been for about 3 years now.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
Tnarg
Colonel
Posts: 282
Joined: Feb 06 2008

Re: Garrison behavior

Post by Tnarg »

Well bummer, work around it is I guess. Thanks.
Post Reply

Return to “Issues and Support”