How to add unit models to the game

Have a question about how to mod something? Or have an issue with one of our mod tools? Post here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 22083
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

How to add unit models to the game

Post by Balthagor »

Asked in another thread;
Themis wrote: Jul 29 2021 no im not making the models by my self, but will try if i download a model from site(any site with free models),how i can have it in game?
To use custom unit models, the files simply need to be in the right format, in the right folder, and the proper values set in the data file. Let's give an example were someone found a free model online for a Steyr 4K 7FA

- In the default.unit file, the Steyr 4K 7FA is ID 445 and uses model 97.
https://supremeruler.fandom.com/wiki/DEFAULT.PICNUMS

- In the default.picnum file, pic 97 is for the M113. File is located in \Graphics\Meshes
https://supremeruler.fandom.com/wiki/Eq ... _Standards

So we need a new picnum for the model we've found. ID 3072 is where modded units are to be assigned.

- Download the model you found. Make sure it meets the game requirements for 3D models;
https://supremeruler.fandom.com/wiki/Mod_Unit_3D_Meshes
- Convert it to a .X file with a .DDS. Name the model UNIT3072.x
- Add unit 3072 to the default.picnums
- Change the picnum value for unit 445 in the default.unit
- Recache the game, find that unit in inventory.
- Verify your unit scale (try all values from 0.00001 to 10 until you see it, then make smaller adjustments)

And that's about it.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 22083
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: How to add unit models to the game

Post by Balthagor »

Update for .CMO files for use in SR2030

We have included a batch file in the /Meshes folder

_XtoCMO.bat

If you have created a .X file or you have a pair of .OBJ and .MTL files for your model, this batch file will convert your file into .CMO which is the file format used by SR2030

- Place the .X file or the .OBJ/.MTL files into your \Supreme Ruler 2030\Graphics\Meshes folder
- Ensure that the texture is in the same folder and is a .DDS file format
- Double click on _XtoCMO.bat to run the batch file
- Ensure that your new .CMO file follows the required naming standards for meshes (UNITxxxx.CMO or TERxxx.CMO)
- Review the object properties set in the DEFAULT.PICNUMS file to be sure it can be used by the game.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Issues & Support”