Intercepting enemy aircraft

Place any military topics in this forum. How long can you run your country peacefully?

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor

Post Reply
Message
Author
catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Intercepting enemy aircraft

#1 Post by catatonic » Mar 02 2013

Why do combat aircraft not have an order on their order menu to make them attack an enemy aircraft?

In the Orders.csv file the "Intercept" command is not implemented and "Attack Unit" does not appear on the menu for aircraft.
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19928
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#2 Post by Balthagor » Mar 02 2013

what would the order do? They already fire on any enemy aircraft in range.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
Ruges
General
Posts: 3407
Joined: Aug 22 2008
Location: Nearby, really I'll see you tonight when your sleeping
Contact:

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#3 Post by Ruges » Mar 03 2013

Balthagor wrote:what would the order do? They already fire on any enemy aircraft in range.
Go after a bomber that is bombing your ground troops instead of the bombs they are launching. Or take out escort before taking out the bomber, Or taking out the airtransport that is going to land troops before taking out the escort.

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#4 Post by catatonic » Mar 03 2013

Balthagor wrote:what would the order do? They already fire on any enemy aircraft in range.
And if the target is spotted and if it is on the same air-level.

All units "fire on any enemy ... in range" if the enemy's type is specified as being within the unit's "Unit Role". But every unit class except for aircraft have an "Attack Unit" command to over-ride the set Role of that unit and supply rational player targeting - not just random "shoot-em up".
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#5 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 03 2013

Sort of like how you can set those orders for air units in HOI? Intercept, Air superiority, etc?

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19928
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#6 Post by Balthagor » Mar 04 2013

k, noted.
17117
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#7 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 04 2013

I have had a little more sleep now and was still thinking about this. That ability is more or less in game now with the ROE. For example, I always turn off ground attack for any wings I am using for air superiority. This makes them engage only planes without wasting supply on ground units. That is essentially an air intercept mission, yes?

This does nothing about them using their supply to shoot missiles instead of the plane launching them though. But I rather like that my planes shoot missiles, save many a ship for me that way. :)

I guess the larger question is, would it add anything to game play? Planes move so fast, do I want to have to pause a game, select a particular wing and order it to attack an enemy wing? I think the current mechanics works. It is possible I do not understand exactly what the issue is.

Ruges - I am assuming your comments are about multiplayer games?

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#8 Post by catatonic » Mar 04 2013

GIJoe597 wrote:...

This does nothing about them using their supply to shoot missiles instead of the plane launching them though. But I rather like that my planes shoot missiles, save many a ship for me that way. :)
...

Planes do not shoot missiles, they just give them a ride to the target. Missiles launch themselves, or the player does. Unless you are talking about intrinsic missiles.
GIJoe597 wrote:...I guess the larger question is, would it add anything to game play? Planes move so fast, do I want to have to pause a game, select a particular wing and order it to attack an enemy wing? I think the current mechanics works. It is possible I do not understand exactly what the issue is.
...
The issue is target discrimination and player control. The player can select targets for every other class of unit - why not for aircraft? I'm not saying that they should not automatically attack if that is their Role.
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Intercepting enemy aircraft

#9 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 04 2013

Shooting missiles, not launching missiles. Typing about them shooting DOWN incoming missiles, which they do very well. :)

I see, player control, I understand. It is not something that I would want time/resources spent on, when I can do the same thing now with existing mechanics. Luckily we can all register our preference on these forums :)

Post Reply

Return to “Military - 2020”