How to edit the standard world maps for each start?

Have a question about how to mod something? Or have an issue with one of our mod tools? Post here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
Traslogan
Lieutenant
Posts: 66
Joined: Apr 25 2019
Human: Yes

How to edit the standard world maps for each start?

#1 Post by Traslogan » Aug 23 2019

Hey folks,

So I do a lot of tinkering around with things like what each nation has in its unit designs and I'd like to adjust some resources (In this case, giving the UK their uranium deposits on earlier starts since the UK had uranium mining even before the 20th century, but in the game we only have it added in the 21st century starts, amongst other things), but I can't see how to edit the normal world map without it being some special custom 1936 scenario. It's not always easy to google results for supreme ruler modding so I'm probably asking something that has been answered, but how would I go about getting the normal world map from any standard sandbox start into the map editor?

Cheers in advance

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20306
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: How to edit the standard world maps for each start?

#2 Post by Balthagor » Aug 23 2019

Resources and unit designs are handled in very different ways.

To edit the map, I'd suggest giving this a read;

https://supremeruler.gamepedia.com/Map_editor

Unit designs are in the regional data .CVP file;

https://supremeruler.gamepedia.com/Regional_Data

The tools available from steam - Scenario Editor and Asset Manager - are able to help you do these if you don't want to edit the files individually. You might want to read the walkthrough for how to create a new map, it may help you understand how to change an existing map;

https://supremeruler.gamepedia.com/Scen ... r_Tutorial
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

xsmilingbanditx
Sergeant
Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 16 2019
Human: Yes

Re: How to edit the standard world maps for each start?

#3 Post by xsmilingbanditx » Jan 12 2020

Didn't want to start a new thread because this here would serve me just fine...
I'd like to do some very basic and simple 1949 Scenario and change the owner of regions (e.g. Austria bwlongs Germany, Northern Mexico to the USA, southern korea to Japan and the like).
But for the love of god I cannot find it anywhere...

Post Reply

Return to “Modding Issues & Support”