Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

Moderators: Balthagor, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
dax1
Colonel
Posts: 448
Joined: Apr 05 2012
Human: Yes
Location: Italy

Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#1 Post by dax1 » Jul 08 2017

While playing a game with SR:U, I found out that many obsolete units (50 Mark I Boy Scout) were in reserve.
So I started to scraps them one at a time and queuing to build newer units (B-1 Centauro).
At this point I thought it would be nice to have a button that would allow me to automatically update obsolete units with new ones(only units in reserve).

Has anyone ever found in this situation?
Con forza ed ardimento

Kristijonas
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 843
Joined: Nov 11 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#2 Post by Kristijonas » Jul 09 2017

While it's a good idea, it will probably not be implemented because that is not what happens in real life.
For example in real life it is not possible to upgrade an OF-40 tank into Ariete tank.
Of course sometimes upgrades happen, for example Russian T70 could be upgraded to T80. But I think it would be very hard to program these exceptions.
Also, most countries in the world still use very old military equipment. There are still techs that add global military effectiveness bonuses so you can take them as upgrade to all of your units.

way2co0l
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 637
Joined: Nov 29 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#3 Post by way2co0l » Jul 09 2017

Well, to be fair, if you look at them like military organization units rather than just as equipment then upgrading makes sense. Your army infantry regiment wouldn't be dissolved in real life simply to create a new one with the modern equipment. You'd simply phase out the old equipment replacing it with new ones. Same with armored divisions or anything else really. "Upgrades" wouldn't really be any cheaper as you'd still have to pay for all new equipment, but would provide a more convenient way of keeping a modern force that doesn't require you to disband or sell your old equipment. Allowing an option to upgrade units simplifies the process by having 1 action to upgrade the old unit to the new one, rather than building the new unit in addition to discarding the old one. The UI can be a bit clunky with some of those unit management functions so that could be a nice improvement while also allowing you to keep historically named units that consistently get newer equipment.

Having said that, I still don't see it happening in any near future. I can see it being a nice extra though.

dax1
Colonel
Posts: 448
Joined: Apr 05 2012
Human: Yes
Location: Italy

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#4 Post by dax1 » Jul 09 2017

Kristijonas wrote:While it's a good idea, it will probably not be implemented because that is not what happens in real life.
For example in real life it is not possible to upgrade an OF-40 tank into Ariete tank.
Of course sometimes upgrades happen, for example Russian T70 could be upgraded to T80. But I think it would be very hard to program these exceptions.
Also, most countries in the world still use very old military equipment. There are still techs that add global military effectiveness bonuses so you can take them as upgrade to all of your units.
No, I don't want that kind of upgrade, but something for automate "scrap obsolete unit and put in queue for production new unit" using "land production facility", not a "direct" upgrade.
what you say, I know, it can be made with new techs, but it's not what I mean!
what I mean is...I can scrap all my OF-40 ( for example 25) and put in production 25 new Ariete.
way2co0l wrote:Well, to be fair, if you look at them like military organization units rather than just as equipment then upgrading makes sense. Your army infantry regiment wouldn't be dissolved in real life simply to create a new one with the modern equipment. You'd simply phase out the old equipment replacing it with new ones. Same with armored divisions or anything else really. "Upgrades" wouldn't really be any cheaper as you'd still have to pay for all new equipment, but would provide a more convenient way of keeping a modern force that doesn't require you to disband or sell your old equipment. Allowing an option to upgrade units simplifies the process by having 1 action to upgrade the old unit to the new one, rather than building the new unit in addition to discarding the old one. The UI can be a bit clunky with some of those unit management functions so that could be a nice improvement while also allowing you to keep historically named units that consistently get newer equipment.

Having said that, I still don't see it happening in any near future. I can see it being a nice extra though.
yes... :wink:
Con forza ed ardimento

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20745
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#5 Post by Balthagor » Jul 10 2017

dax1 wrote:...automate "scrap obsolete unit and put in queue for production new unit...
There is a defense minister priority to do this. I believe it's "Military Growth"? Will make the AI scrap old units and queue up more modern units. But does required AI initiative to be on.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

way2co0l
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 637
Joined: Nov 29 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#6 Post by way2co0l » Jul 10 2017

Yeah, the only problem is that a lot of us don't like using AI initiative. Not that it's necessarily bad at what it does, I honestly don't know because I never use it. I enjoy having control over every tiny detail and don't like changes being made that I'm not directly aware of or might even be in direct conflict with what I was trying to do otherwise.

Having the option to do it manually but for the process to be simpler would be a welcome option at some point. I really don't expect it, but quality of life upgrades are always a good thing.

dax1
Colonel
Posts: 448
Joined: Apr 05 2012
Human: Yes
Location: Italy

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#7 Post by dax1 » Jul 11 2017

way2co0l wrote:Yeah, the only problem is that a lot of us don't like using AI initiative. Not that it's necessarily bad at what it does, I honestly don't know because I never use it. I enjoy having control over every tiny detail and don't like changes being made that I'm not directly aware of or might even be in direct conflict with what I was trying to do otherwise.

Having the option to do it manually but for the process to be simpler would be a welcome option at some point. I really don't expect it, but quality of life upgrades are always a good thing.
Again I think way2cool is right.
all AI initiative is off in my game and I think all "expert" player have it off.
Con forza ed ardimento

Wonderdoodle
Warrant Officer
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 27 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#8 Post by Wonderdoodle » Jul 11 2017

Not sure what we're calling expert players here.. but I got going on 700+ hours in SRU and just as many in the other games since SR2020. No offense taken though, just saying I play with AI init on, and this feature doesn't work so it's a mute point to argue. Or if it does.. it's not working correctly. I also enjoy cheating like a mofo and I'm at 1940 with metal storm tech.. but for some unknown reason I still have biplanes flying around and my dude is still auto building them. Take it for what you will.. figured I'd butt in my 2 pennies to let you know it doesn't matter if you use AI init or not.. feature not actively working like the OP is asking for.

dax1
Colonel
Posts: 448
Joined: Apr 05 2012
Human: Yes
Location: Italy

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#9 Post by dax1 » Jul 12 2017

Wonderdoodle wrote:Not sure what we're calling expert players here.. but I got going on 700+ hours in SRU and just as many in the other games since SR2020. No offense taken though, just saying I play with AI init on, and this feature doesn't work so it's a mute point to argue. Or if it does.. it's not working correctly. I also enjoy cheating like a mofo and I'm at 1940 with metal storm tech.. but for some unknown reason I still have biplanes flying around and my dude is still auto building them. Take it for what you will.. figured I'd butt in my 2 pennies to let you know it doesn't matter if you use AI init or not.. feature not actively working like the OP is asking for.
[_]O
:D Ok, I'm wrong.
But happy to know that it does not work, so maybe, Balth can do a thought to introduce that. :lol:
Con forza ed ardimento

Wonderdoodle
Warrant Officer
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 27 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#10 Post by Wonderdoodle » Jul 12 2017

I look at it like this.. we need a manual "push" button for upgrades. We have a computer that you have a built in button on the software, but no physical button to push. Could be that I'm cheating and maybe it's creating some error, but I'm just sayin.. makes no sense to build a computer with no power button that you can smash just in case things get stuck.

geminif4ucorsair
General
Posts: 1286
Joined: Jun 08 2005

Re: Player Option on replacing Obsolete Units

#11 Post by geminif4ucorsair » Jul 16 2017

Balthagor wrote:
dax1 wrote:...automate "scrap obsolete unit and put in queue for production new unit...
There is a defense minister priority to do this. I believe it's "Military Growth"? Will make the AI scrap old units and queue up more modern units. But does required AI initiative to be on.
It is a good Option for those less experienced and less knowledgable in military Unit types, etc. - therefore, thanks for those newbie's who could use its Option.

Personally, I have several thousand hours playing SR-36 (plus SR-49/-2020) and do not use it.

But, like several of us who have "been around the block" over the years with SR, it is always important to have short-cuts for those who have less experience, whether it be in trade, diplomacy, military Units, etc.

Kristijonas
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 843
Joined: Nov 11 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Sugg: upgrade obsolete units

#12 Post by Kristijonas » Jul 16 2017

There is this minister order "Arms Race"

Its description is literally "Replace older units with more modern versions. Modernize military units." So I think what was asked is already in the game.

Pretty sure "Military Growth" does NOT scrap old units. "Military Growth" order is all about getting more units, not scraping and remaking old ones.

Post Reply

Return to “Development - SRGW”