Regions List

This forum has been archived. Please use the new modding forum. If you need to retrieve a thread from here, contact BattleGoat.

Moderators: Balthagor, BattleGoat

Post Reply
Message
Author
BIPU
Corporal
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 01 2014
Human: Yes

Regions List

#1 Post by BIPU » Nov 02 2017

Hi, I have been looking for a complete list of regions and I can't find it. The one in the wiki is incomplete, so when I try to create a new region sometimes the region number is already used by a region that is not in the map. Is there any complete region list? Thanks.

evildari
Colonel
Posts: 312
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: Regions List

#2 Post by evildari » Nov 02 2017

there is no complete list of regions.
Its all defined by the corresponding *.REGIONINCL file that is linked from a .scenario file
the region numbers in that .regionincl file tell the game wich of the region to use in the .cvp file (wich is also linked from a .scenario file)

just check the scenario file you want to edit / or have it as base and then check the corresponding .regionincl file to see wich countries are in that scenario (and wich numbers are not used)
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)

BIPU
Corporal
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 01 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Regions List

#3 Post by BIPU » Nov 02 2017

EVILDARI wrote:there is no complete list of regions.
Its all defined by the corresponding *.REGIONINCL file that is linked from a .scenario file
the region numbers in that .regionincl file tell the game wich of the region to use in the .cvp file (wich is also linked from a .scenario file)

just check the scenario file you want to edit / or have it as base and then check the corresponding .regionincl file to see wich countries are in that scenario (and wich numbers are not used)
It is not as easy as you say. :wink: For example: I'm trying to create "Tonga" and I use the number 2214 that is not in use in my BIPUCW.REGIONINCL but instead of create Tonga I get "Christmas Island". Is there Christmas Island in any list? No, I'm afraid not but it appears in the game after cached. That's the why I ask for a REAL list.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19961
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Regions List

#4 Post by Balthagor » Nov 03 2017

There used to be a list of regions in some of the INCL files on the wiki...
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

BIPU
Corporal
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct 01 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Regions List

#5 Post by BIPU » Nov 03 2017

Balthagor wrote:There used to be a list of regions in some of the INCL files on the wiki...
Yes, it is, but there are a lot of regions with numbers asigned that are not in the wiki list. http://www.supremewiki.com/node/56 For example, 2214, Christmas Island.

evildari
Colonel
Posts: 312
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: Regions List

#6 Post by evildari » Nov 03 2017

BIPU wrote:
EVILDARI wrote:there is no complete list of regions.
Its all defined by the corresponding *.REGIONINCL file that is linked from a .scenario file
the region numbers in that .regionincl file tell the game wich of the region to use in the .cvp file (wich is also linked from a .scenario file)

just check the scenario file you want to edit / or have it as base and then check the corresponding .regionincl file to see wich countries are in that scenario (and wich numbers are not used)
It is not as easy as you say. :wink: For example: I'm trying to create "Tonga" and I use the number 2214 that is not in use in my BIPUCW.REGIONINCL but instead of create Tonga I get "Christmas Island". Is there Christmas Island in any list? No, I'm afraid not but it appears in the game after cached. That's the why I ask for a REAL list.
If i start with a blank slate - i could make 25 totally new regions in my mars mod without having a complete list of predefined regions- i just had to set the owner number in the infoset section of the mapeditor - put the same numbers in the CVP and into the .regionincl file.

But i think you were caught by a text-replacement that is done in the Localize/LOCAL<your LanguageISOcode>/Scenario folder - look for file with the string "localtext-regions.csv"
the replacement text goes up to:
2214, "Christmas Island", , , ,
2215, "Kiritimati", , , ,
2216, "Western Samoa", , , ,
2217, "Samoa", , , "American",

so 2218 seems save - check the 2 other files too - just to be sure
(in my mod i seem to have nuked that file - so no issues for me)
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)

vahadar
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 247
Joined: May 19 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Regions List

#7 Post by vahadar » Dec 07 2017

You can safely use region blocknums starting like 40 or 50, without having to check if a country already has such number

source here :
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 15#p181957

Post Reply

Return to “Modding SRUltimate”