BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Dec 13 2017

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Regions List
PostPosted: Nov 02 2017 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Oct 01 2014
Posts: 7
Human: Yes
Hi, I have been looking for a complete list of regions and I can't find it. The one in the wiki is incomplete, so when I try to create a new region sometimes the region number is already used by a region that is not in the map. Is there any complete region list? Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Regions List
PostPosted: Nov 02 2017 
Offline
Lieutenant

Joined: Aug 10 2017
Posts: 98
Human: Yes
there is no complete list of regions.
Its all defined by the corresponding *.REGIONINCL file that is linked from a .scenario file
the region numbers in that .regionincl file tell the game wich of the region to use in the .cvp file (wich is also linked from a .scenario file)

just check the scenario file you want to edit / or have it as base and then check the corresponding .regionincl file to see wich countries are in that scenario (and wich numbers are not used)

_________________
my mods
viewtopic.php?f=79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
viewtopic.php?f=87&t=26151 (MARSX1)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Regions List
PostPosted: Nov 02 2017 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Oct 01 2014
Posts: 7
Human: Yes
EVILDARI wrote:
there is no complete list of regions.
Its all defined by the corresponding *.REGIONINCL file that is linked from a .scenario file
the region numbers in that .regionincl file tell the game wich of the region to use in the .cvp file (wich is also linked from a .scenario file)

just check the scenario file you want to edit / or have it as base and then check the corresponding .regionincl file to see wich countries are in that scenario (and wich numbers are not used)


It is not as easy as you say. :wink: For example: I'm trying to create "Tonga" and I use the number 2214 that is not in use in my BIPUCW.REGIONINCL but instead of create Tonga I get "Christmas Island". Is there Christmas Island in any list? No, I'm afraid not but it appears in the game after cached. That's the why I ask for a REAL list.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Regions List
PostPosted: Nov 03 2017 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20461
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
There used to be a list of regions in some of the INCL files on the wiki...

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Regions List
PostPosted: Nov 03 2017 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Oct 01 2014
Posts: 7
Human: Yes
Balthagor wrote:
There used to be a list of regions in some of the INCL files on the wiki...

Yes, it is, but there are a lot of regions with numbers asigned that are not in the wiki list. http://www.supremewiki.com/node/56 For example, 2214, Christmas Island.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Regions List
PostPosted: Nov 03 2017 
Offline
Lieutenant

Joined: Aug 10 2017
Posts: 98
Human: Yes
BIPU wrote:
EVILDARI wrote:
there is no complete list of regions.
Its all defined by the corresponding *.REGIONINCL file that is linked from a .scenario file
the region numbers in that .regionincl file tell the game wich of the region to use in the .cvp file (wich is also linked from a .scenario file)

just check the scenario file you want to edit / or have it as base and then check the corresponding .regionincl file to see wich countries are in that scenario (and wich numbers are not used)


It is not as easy as you say. :wink: For example: I'm trying to create "Tonga" and I use the number 2214 that is not in use in my BIPUCW.REGIONINCL but instead of create Tonga I get "Christmas Island". Is there Christmas Island in any list? No, I'm afraid not but it appears in the game after cached. That's the why I ask for a REAL list.


If i start with a blank slate - i could make 25 totally new regions in my mars mod without having a complete list of predefined regions- i just had to set the owner number in the infoset section of the mapeditor - put the same numbers in the CVP and into the .regionincl file.

But i think you were caught by a text-replacement that is done in the Localize/LOCAL<your LanguageISOcode>/Scenario folder - look for file with the string "localtext-regions.csv"
the replacement text goes up to:
2214, "Christmas Island", , , ,
2215, "Kiritimati", , , ,
2216, "Western Samoa", , , ,
2217, "Samoa", , , "American",

so 2218 seems save - check the 2 other files too - just to be sure
(in my mod i seem to have nuked that file - so no issues for me)

_________________
my mods
viewtopic.php?f=79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
viewtopic.php?f=87&t=26151 (MARSX1)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Regions List
PostPosted: Dec 07 2017 
Offline
Lt. Colonel

Joined: May 19 2010
Posts: 247
Human: Yes
You can safely use region blocknums starting like 40 or 50, without having to check if a country already has such number

source here :
viewtopic.php?f=87&t=25941&start=15#p181957

_________________
SR:CW North Vietnam North Korea revamped mod
Mod Realistic naval, artillery, aa range from 1900 to 2010+
WIP SR1936/Ultimate - 1936 total modification mod


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited