my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

General discussion related to the game goes here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

jessed
Corporal
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 30 2018
Human: Yes

my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by jessed »

hello
i have a problem
my fighter planes do not shoot other planes. I'm playing with Trump's scenario with Russia. I have my planes out of the minister's control, with the orders to attack everything that approaches, but they do not shoot. Is it a bug?
jessed
Corporal
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 30 2018
Human: Yes

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by jessed »

The problem is solved.
Thanks
GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by GIJoe597 »

May we know what the issue was?
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20519
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by Balthagor »

His loaded missiles had displaced all the ammo. :)
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
YoMomma
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 768
Joined: Jun 27 2015
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by YoMomma »

.
Last edited by YoMomma on Jun 30 2019, edited 1 time in total.
Gameplay 1st
jessed
Corporal
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 30 2018
Human: Yes

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by jessed »

My planes were loaded with missiles that I made and when flying with so much weight they could not transport normal supplies, that's why they did not shoot.
User avatar
Leafgreen
Colonel
Posts: 355
Joined: Apr 06 2006
Location: Emerald City
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by Leafgreen »

I did not know this was a thing, thank you.
"That's O'neill, with two l's"
(Holds up 3 fingers)
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20519
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by Balthagor »

YoMomma wrote:
Jul 31 2018
Why wasnt this an issue till few patches ago?
This situation has existed since the release of SR2020. It hasn't been patched because there is nothing to fix.

IRL there are cases where a multirole fighter loads air-to-ground missiles instead of an AA payload. This is WAD.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
YoMomma
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 768
Joined: Jun 27 2015
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by YoMomma »

.
Last edited by YoMomma on Jun 30 2019, edited 1 time in total.
Gameplay 1st
evildari
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 501
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by evildari »

of course there is a modding way around this:
remove the missile capacity of the units - replace them with combat stats and increase their mil.goods usage
(like in my dt-mod)
Now the ai builds only missiles that makes the screen go white once you hit the red button.
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)
User avatar
Uriens
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 516
Joined: Oct 05 2005

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by Uriens »

Balthagor wrote:
Jul 31 2018
YoMomma wrote:
Jul 31 2018
Why wasnt this an issue till few patches ago?
This situation has existed since the release of SR2020. It hasn't been patched because there is nothing to fix.

IRL there are cases where a multirole fighter loads air-to-ground missiles instead of an AA payload. This is WAD.
IRL interceptors don't load Air to Ground missiles before going on intercept missions. AI does that all the time ...
YoMomma
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 768
Joined: Jun 27 2015
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by YoMomma »

.
Last edited by YoMomma on Jun 30 2019, edited 1 time in total.
Gameplay 1st
GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by GIJoe597 »

Balthagor wrote:
Jul 30 2018
His loaded missiles had displaced all the ammo. :)
I have been pondering this since it was typed. I am hoping this is a poor choice of words. It has always been the case that aircraft have a built in attack value to simulate its cannon. The missile was a separate thing. Even when loaded with missiles which are not air to air it would attack other aircraft. Mr Latour, do you mean, by your choice of the word "ammo", planes will no longer have any air to air attack value if they have air to ground or anti shipping missiles loaded?

I am hoping you used that word as a layman and do not understand the difference between ammo and missiles. If that is the case, I also hope planes still have an air attack value with any other types of missile loaded.
User avatar
George Geczy
General
Posts: 2649
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by George Geczy »

GIJoe597 wrote:
Aug 03 2018
Balthagor wrote:
Jul 30 2018
His loaded missiles had displaced all the ammo. :)
I have been pondering this since it was typed. I am hoping this is a poor choice of words. It has always been the case that aircraft have a built in attack value to simulate its cannon. The missile was a separate thing. Even when loaded with missiles which are not air to air it would attack other aircraft. Mr Latour, do you mean, by your choice of the word "ammo", planes will no longer have any air to air attack value if they have air to ground or anti shipping missiles loaded?

I am hoping you used that word as a layman and do not understand the difference between ammo and missiles. If that is the case, I also hope planes still have an air attack value with any other types of missile loaded.
Well there are a few layers of complexity here, since in SR we simulate any missiles (including AA missiles) as "ammo" if they meet certain criteria (one of which is that they can't be intercepted, but that's not the only one). So loading up items we simulate as "missile units" (ie, Cruise missiles) will naturally displace the capacity to load other missiles.

While it is true this creates an oddity with cannon ammo, that is not generally an A-A attack strategy in modern aircraft. For WWI / WWII it is different, there cannon were the common AA attack, but the planes of that era didn't have missiles. So, there are some edge cases, but the way we simulate is in my opinion the best way to cover 95% of the use cases and it doesn't create an insanely complex system.

-- George.
User avatar
George Geczy
General
Posts: 2649
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

Re: my fighter planes do not shoot other planes

Post by George Geczy »

And as I think was mentioned earlier in the thread, for the human player you get the choice by individual plane or group, or globally, to turn on/off automatic missile loading, so there's lots of flexibility here.

For the AI, it will generally use missiles in a logical usage pattern, although there are exceptions.

-- George.
Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion - SRUltimate”