Questions from a newbie.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
PeTeTe809
Corporal
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 07 2017
Human: Yes

Questions from a newbie.

#1 Post by PeTeTe809 » Oct 07 2017

Hello ladies and gentlemen, a friend of mine introduced me to this game, which has prompted me and a whole bunch to jump on the bandwagon.

Awesome game this one, also a very complicated one with some obscure mechanics I don't quite get. So here are a few questions.

Generic Unit Designs Research

I understand that major nations get unique units, while others get generic things. Yet I played as North Korea for from 1950 to 1960, got me 4 labs on research and while the techs I am researching say they will unlock a number of units, including one with origin set as "multiple" and another one with origin set as "W" which I think stands for worldwide I do not get the option to research the designs.

Cancelling Road Constructions

A friend of mine went on a frenzy with them, ate his industrial goods. Can they be cancelled?

Thanks in advance guys.

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2831
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Questions from a newbie.

#2 Post by GIJoe597 » Oct 07 2017

Roads may not be cancelled and in 9 years of playing I have never found a reason to build them.

The roads in game are "Interstates", "Autobhans", etc. Small local, or State highways are not modeled via graphics, they are represented as part of the Infrastrucure spending. I have never found a need to build roads (Interstates) in 9 years of playing.


To build or not to build is a player choice, it is a Strategic or Tactical decision one must make. If you choose to build them, you must live with that choice.
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG

YoMomma
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 655
Joined: Jun 27 2015
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Questions from a newbie.

#3 Post by YoMomma » Oct 08 2017

About the units it seems an obscure topic here on the forum.

Not much discussion about it. I told before that regions with their own unit design dont get access to multiple or world. Seems whats left on this forum that actively play is mainly US and they dont care or something. Just want more US designs.

Thing is in SR2020 this was way different and countries like North Korea and Netherlands would get much more designs because they could access stuff like world and multiple designs way more.

Not just countries with their own orbat, but also smaller regions. My research show that their limit the orbats acess of individual units in the database. Which seems even weirder knowing the ai can't trade units effectively.

For long term gameplay (+5 years) it basicly became an US vs Russia game. Players can tackle it by allying one of the two in the hope they tade units (also got bugged few patches ago, where sometimes they dont answer trade requests).
Gameplay 1st

evildari
Colonel
Posts: 310
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: Questions from a newbie.

#4 Post by evildari » Oct 08 2017

quick and dirty little fix - change the region letter to * in the .unit file and recache.
But beware of extreme clutter in your design-lists - maybe select just a few dozens of your favorite designs.
(yes that little star - after that, even soon-to-be-superpowers like southsudan can research it !
Maybe the letter W does not work as intended...
(Thats also the main reason i made my first mod)
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)

YoMomma
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 655
Joined: Jun 27 2015
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Questions from a newbie.

#5 Post by YoMomma » Oct 08 2017

Hmm now you made that connection with world units and * i might have found a fix for my GOLD mod.
Gameplay 1st

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3300
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Questions from a newbie.

#6 Post by Fistalis » Oct 10 2017

GIJoe597 wrote: I have never found a need to build roads (Interstates) in 9 years of playing.

Then either you prefer railroads or have never played a nation like Chile with huge swaths of land like its southern parts without any transport there. Much of their oil supply is down there with little to NO road or rail access. Not saying one needs to go hog wild but being able to have steady supply and easy troop access without needing air transport are both viable reasons to build roads in many areas of the world.. on the other side of the coin.. nations like the U.S. or other major nations generally don't need additional roads.. but they can still prove useful.

I won't deny your knowledge and skill as a player GI.. but there are viable reasons to build them.. although depending on your playstyle i can see how you can say they are not necessary.
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2831
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Questions from a newbie.

#7 Post by GIJoe597 » Oct 10 2017

Railroads are better in every instance and much cheaper. In addition, roads allow the enemy fast travel same as you. Rails do not and move same amount of supply. I have played many nations with remote areas. But I build local supply depots, where the resources are. I do not need to connect them to other parts of my nation.


The Industrial Parks I have typed about often. No road maint cost and minimum rail needed. This may not be for everyone, it works for me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ayZd4JN ... 4q&index=3
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion - SRUltimate”