Disabling Weather system wont work

Place bug reports / questions here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
evildari
Colonel
Posts: 311
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Disabling Weather system wont work

#1 Post by evildari » Feb 24 2018

Disabling the Weather system at the lobby option for starting a new game,
just starts the game with the weather overlay filter off, the weather simulation still runs in background.
Switch the Weather filter on and check also the weather of the land / hex status changing.
(Wanted to look how faster game could run without weather simulation...)
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2831
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Disabling Weather system wont work

#2 Post by GIJoe597 » Feb 24 2018

This is working as intended. There is a thread which states toggling it off does just that. Only the visual graphic is gone, the code still runs.
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Disabling Weather system wont work

#3 Post by Balthagor » Feb 24 2018

GIJoe597 wrote:This is working as intended. There is a thread which states toggling it off does just that. Only the visual graphic is gone, the code still runs.
This is not what I recall. IIRC when the setting is off, the visual graphic can still be seen but the code for weather effects DOES NOT run. Anyone checked the manual?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2831
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Disabling Weather system wont work

#4 Post by GIJoe597 » Feb 24 2018

This is the thread I was thinking of. Perhaps I am being pedantic but I never saw a logical response to why you still get cloud patterns if there are no calculations. Shrugs

http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... it=Weather
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Disabling Weather system wont work

#5 Post by Balthagor » Feb 25 2018

No particular reason. Not see as important since the UI toggle is there.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

evildari
Colonel
Posts: 311
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: Disabling Weather system wont work

#6 Post by evildari » Feb 27 2018

if i understand that right - its just a redundant filter toggle in the lobby - no matter what - the weather simulation always runs and this is working as intended.
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Disabling Weather system wont work

#7 Post by Balthagor » Feb 28 2018

On = combat is modified by weather and you see clouds.
Off = combat is NOT modified by weather and you see clouds.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Post Reply

Return to “Issues and Support”