Treasury calculation not adding up

Place bug reports / questions here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Post Reply
evildari
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 516
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Treasury calculation not adding up

Post by evildari »

see also http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 78&t=26003 for the old basic issue:

since there is only one region left alive on the planet for five months at the time of these screenshot, Balthagor's excuse ("Ongoing diplomatic trades are not shown in the budget lines.") does not fit in this case.

Please fix this calculation error !
Attachments
LastRegionStanding.jpg
Treasury SEP13+14.jpg
TreasuryCalc.jpg
TreasuryCalc.jpg (243.4 KiB) Viewed 1466 times
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20568
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Treasury calculation not adding up

Post by Balthagor »

evildari wrote:...since there is only one region left...
This has been discussed before. The engine does not work well with only one region. It's not designed to work like that and we don't plan to allocate resources to that. You've won, you're the Supreme Ruler.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
evildari
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 516
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: Treasury calculation not adding up

Post by evildari »

but treasury calculations are independent from the amount of other regions alive..
if i count 10+2+2 it should be 14 and not 9 !
does not matter if there are 1 or 250 regions in the engine!
sorry that i killed that diplomatic trade excuse...
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20568
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Treasury calculation not adding up

Post by Balthagor »

Like I said, it's been discussed before. I don't make the calculations, but I've spoken with George about it. There are shortcuts in the math in places to improve performance and related to the fact that you're always +1, there is a world market "player" in the engine. Some of that math is perfectly fine for the overall simulation, but when it's down to one active region, the shortcuts create visible flaws.

The game is not "perfect", it's "very good".
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
evildari
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 516
Joined: Aug 10 2017
Human: Yes

Re: Treasury calculation not adding up

Post by evildari »

i doubt that making a shortcut for the calculation of the most important stat (=treasury / income) that produces errors (happens even with all regions alive , since formula is always same is it?) is the right way.
What about the resource-heavy calculations for stealth and detection (LOS), or the drawing of the 3d unit graphics which are drawn probably multiple times per seconds.

I think a real treasury addition (pretty much the most basic operation in programming) which is done just one time per day per region doesn't waste near that much cpu-time compared to those mentioned examples.
If treasury is not calculated right - you can completely ditch the economic game - and then you have a game that is like supreme commander just without the right numbers...
my mods
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=25932 (even techs and units for everyone - AI will own you too)
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=29326 (MARSX2)
Post Reply

Return to “Issues and Support”