What happened to UI?

Have a feature request for SRU? Post here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Inzann
Warrant Officer
Human: Yes

What happened to UI?

Post by Inzann »

Honestly I think the UI is horrible compared to SR2020. A lot of icons that really have no place being there and just to much clicking navigating to the place you want to. Also these menus that automatically open when you hover over messages and disappear if you drag your mouse out of the window. Gah its frustrating UI. It doesn't feel well planned at all I must say. I just started playing the game so I can't give any opinions as to whether the core game is any good but so far I'm enjoying it but the UI really needs overhaul for future titles. For me its one of the most important aspects for a game like this.
magiclight
Warrant Officer

Re: What happened to UI?

Post by magiclight »

I kindly disagree, this UI feels similar to that of cold war, but bigger and certainly better. Maybe you didn't like CW's UI either?
2020 was a bit before my time, though, so I can't comment on that.
Inzann
Warrant Officer

Post by Inzann »

I didn't play cold war since I am not a fan of that period so I can't comment on it. I just feel as they tried to hard making this UI pretty but instead it looks cluttered with small icons and unnecessary graphics, I've gotten more used to it now over time but I still think its a horrible design decision. The game itself seems alright though except for unemployment which I seem to have a lot of issues with. It keeps going down no matter what so I can't expand my industry anymore.
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler

Post by Balthagor »

If you want the second panel to stay open, simply click on the button instead of mousing over.

I have heard this comment a few times and I always find it strange, as it is essentially the same GUI with some layout changes;

- Department buttons lay in a flat line instead of around the minister pic
- Minister has become a sub-dept.