BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Apr 27 2017

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stupid Newbie Questions
PostPosted: Apr 20 2015 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Apr 20 2015
Posts: 5
Human: Yes
OK, just started playing this game and absolutely love it. Some questions. I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

1) I continued the tutorial as China. Is the tutorial dumbed down? In other words, if I restarted sandbox game as China would it essentially be the same game or is the tutorial nerfed in some way?

2) When selecting aircraft, I'm having trouble finding cities with airfields. Is there an easy way to highlight them? Ditto ships.

3) I built a wall of fortifications along my norther border to protect against Japanese invasion (yes, I'm a turtler). Now that I've pushed Japan off of the mainland, they serve no purpose. Is there anything gained by dismantling them like lower maintenance costs?

4) I'm having a little trouble figuring out how to select just a specific type of unit. So when I make a selection on the map, and I want just air units for example, is there an easy way to do this?

5) Is there a way to add individual stacks to a selection? The rectangle select works most of the time but sometimes the 'shape' I want to move as a group is problematic with that sort of selection.

6) Was I stupid to buy this instead of Ultimate?


Top
   
PostPosted: Apr 20 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.
User avatar

Joined: May 20 2013
Posts: 646
Human: Yes
lampcord wrote:
OK, just started playing this game and absolutely love it. Some questions. I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

1) I continued the tutorial as China. Is the tutorial dumbed down? In other words, if I restarted sandbox game as China would it essentially be the same game or is the tutorial nerfed in some way?

2) When selecting aircraft, I'm having trouble finding cities with airfields. Is there an easy way to highlight them? Ditto ships.

3) I built a wall of fortifications along my norther border to protect against Japanese invasion (yes, I'm a turtler). Now that I've pushed Japan off of the mainland, they serve no purpose. Is there anything gained by dismantling them like lower maintenance costs?

4) I'm having a little trouble figuring out how to select just a specific type of unit. So when I make a selection on the map, and I want just air units for example, is there an easy way to do this?

5) Is there a way to add individual stacks to a selection? The rectangle select works most of the time but sometimes the 'shape' I want to move as a group is problematic with that sort of selection.

6) Was I stupid to buy this instead of Ultimate?

1) If the options you choose are the same as those of the tutorial campaign, then the answer is no.

2) Yes, click deployed units to show the list of units, then click the grey aircraft button above the list. This will highlight airfields in pink circles.

3) You will get some of the goods back when you dismantle them. Not sure about maintenance.

4) On the map, drag a big box and click the aforementioned grey aircraft button to filter your selection to aircraft. Explore the interface a bit and you will find some short cut ways of doing things. Bear in mind, manual unit control in the game is always a bit cumbersome. Make some Battlegroups for easy access of units.

5) Hold ctrl and left click a hex to add its contents to your selection.

6) Kind answer: no. Honest answer: yes. :P

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FBQetJqAwk

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Apr 20 2015 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Apr 20 2015
Posts: 5
Human: Yes
GreenGoblin wrote:
1) If the options you choose are the same as those of the tutorial campaign, then the answer is no.

2) Yes, click deployed units to show the list of units, then click the grey aircraft button above the list. This will highlight airfields in pink circles.

3) You will get some of the goods back when you dismantle them. Not sure about maintenance.

4) On the map, drag a big box and click the aforementioned grey aircraft button to filter your selection to aircraft. Explore the interface a bit and you will find some short cut ways of doing things. Bear in mind, manual unit control in the game is always a bit cumbersome. Make some Battlegroups for easy access of units.

5) Hold ctrl and left click a hex to add its contents to your selection.

6) Kind answer: no. Honest answer: yes. :P



Thank you so much for your help! Can't wait to get home and play some more. And yeah, I already knew the answer to # 6, lol!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited