Game Breaking Lag

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
nerdymidgetkid
Lieutenant
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 16 2014
Human: Yes

Game Breaking Lag

#1 Post by nerdymidgetkid » Jul 13 2014

Hi guys,

I really love this game and I've been getting into it a lot lately, but unfortunately as I've gone on I've been faced with progressively worse lag. It's now at the point where the game will freeze for minutes at a time--oddly enough the music is still playing and I can move the mouse, but it's still frozen. In the last instance, the visual froze completely and irrevocably--I couldn't use the task manager or anything to exit out--but I knew from the sounds of diplomatic notifications that the game was actually still running.

It's freezing up completely about every ten minutes, and usually it will do so for a few seconds when I zoom in or out. Much of the time the lag will not freeze the game but simply slow everything down sporadically before speeding up again for a bit. Again, this seems to happen mainly when I zoom.

I thought it would be too much happening on screen--of course, you'd expect this sort of situation in a world war or something--but I have actually just undeployed a lot of troops--not that there were a lot of them anyway--and the problem has only gotten worse since then. The troops that I do have, meanwhile, are spread pretty evenly across the map, and I don't think that there are more AI units deployed than there ever have been. I tried deleting the save games with no luck, and I don't know what else to try. I'm running a 64 bit OS with a Quadcore processor and an AMD 7500 graphics card, so I really can't see that such a low end game should have so much trouble, especially when I run other much more graphically intense games without a hitch.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#2 Post by Balthagor » Jul 13 2014

Do you have the latest update?

BTW, our games are certainly not low end on the performance requirements, we have tens of thousands of units moving and over a hundred AI opponents.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

nerdymidgetkid
Lieutenant
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 16 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#3 Post by nerdymidgetkid » Jul 13 2014

Balthagor wrote:Do you have the latest update?
I think so, since I have the game on steam.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#4 Post by Balthagor » Jul 13 2014

If you want, zip and email me the savegame and I'll take a look. Please include ticket 20167 in the subject line.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

stevehoos
Lieutenant
Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 30 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#5 Post by stevehoos » Jul 13 2014

Just to check here: None of you guys at BG are experiencing any slowdowns after the latest patch? I have a I7 920 @ 3.8 win 7 pro and a nividia GTX 680. When I first bought this game during the early release phase, I was getting about 2 seconds per day on the fastest setting at the start of a game. After about 4 to 5 years in game, it would go down some to about 5 or 6 seconds per day. Now during the start of a game I get about 4 to 5 seconds per day, and as soon as 1940 kicks in it slows to about 20 to 25 seconds per day; then progressively worsens. Any ideas about what's causing the bottleneck in certain Computers? I can't play the game right now.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#6 Post by Balthagor » Jul 13 2014

stevehoos wrote:Just to check here: None of you guys at BG are experiencing any slowdowns after the latest patch? I have a I7 920 @ 3.8 win 7 pro and a nividia GTX 680. When I first bought this game during the early release phase, I was getting about 2 seconds per day on the fastest setting at the start of a game. After about 4 to 5 years in game, it would go down some to about 5 or 6 seconds per day. Now during the start of a game I get about 4 to 5 seconds per day, and as soon as 1940 kicks in it slows to about 20 to 25 seconds per day; then progressively worsens. Any ideas about what's causing the bottleneck in certain Computers? I can't play the game right now.
You seem to be talking about SR1936. This thread is about SR-Cold War.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

stevehoos
Lieutenant
Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 30 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#7 Post by stevehoos » Jul 13 2014

Balthagor wrote:
stevehoos wrote:Just to check here: None of you guys at BG are experiencing any slowdowns after the latest patch? I have a I7 920 @ 3.8 win 7 pro and a nividia GTX 680. When I first bought this game during the early release phase, I was getting about 2 seconds per day on the fastest setting at the start of a game. After about 4 to 5 years in game, it would go down some to about 5 or 6 seconds per day. Now during the start of a game I get about 4 to 5 seconds per day, and as soon as 1940 kicks in it slows to about 20 to 25 seconds per day; then progressively worsens. Any ideas about what's causing the bottleneck in certain Computers? I can't play the game right now.
You seem to be talking about SR1936. This thread is about SR-Cold War.
Crap, this is twice now for me. Does this absolve you from answering my question though? :lol:

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#8 Post by Balthagor » Jul 14 2014

The answer would be, it's already discussed in another thread. :P
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

nerdymidgetkid
Lieutenant
Posts: 51
Joined: Mar 16 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Game Breaking Lag

#9 Post by nerdymidgetkid » Jul 14 2014

Balthagor wrote:If you want, zip and email me the savegame and I'll take a look. Please include ticket 20167 in the subject line.
Sorry for not getting back to your earlier--I've cleaned up my disk and lowered the "satellite imagery" settings and the game is running much better now.

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Issues - SRCW”