BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Feb 21 2018

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mar 16 2014 
Offline
Lieutenant

Joined: Mar 16 2014
Posts: 51
Human: Yes
Okay, I just got the demo and I was really excited about the game. Naturally, I was immediately drowned by the complexity, so I decided to assign my first few games to getting a stable economy. I was doing really well, with 3 bil in my treasury (this is my first "sucessful" game) when, after two espionage actions, East Germany Declared war on West Germany. (This was probably about 15-25 minutes into the game) I naturally declared war on East Germany, and most nations followed suit. A few game days later, the USSR declared war.

I wasn't sure if this was some sort of bug--I'd done literally nothing in the international department besides condemning an East German act of espionage--so I started again. In case it wasn't a bug, I figured it might be that the AI saw West Germany as an easy target, so this time I went straight out and deployed tanks to the border. However, the exact same chain of events happened, with the same result.

Has anyone come across this bug before, and is there a fix for it? Or is it that I need to deploy more forces to the border or strenthen my alliances because the AI is legitimately deciding that the Western bloc is weaker than the East?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mar 16 2014 
Offline
General

Joined: Dec 11 2008
Posts: 3601
Location: Turunmaa/Turunseutu, Suomi
Ain't the demo based on an really old version of SRCW? Correct me if I'm wrong

_________________
Happy Linux user!
Links: List of Mods


Top
   
PostPosted: Mar 16 2014 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20582
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
The Demo was based on version 7.0.50 IIRC, so yes, it is the oldest build. It does not reflect the 7 updates worth of content and fixes.

Without know more about what settings you chose for your game and what actions you took during the game it's hard to say if it was a bug or not.

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Mar 16 2014 
Offline
Lieutenant

Joined: Mar 16 2014
Posts: 51
Human: Yes
I'll do another playthrough and try to record things in more detail.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mar 16 2014 
Offline
Lieutenant

Joined: Mar 16 2014
Posts: 51
Human: Yes
Okay. I'm doing the settings slightly dfifferent this time (I just noticed these ones) but it shouldn't make a difference.

SCENARIO SETTINGS:

Resources: Depleted
Initial Funds: No New Bonds
Approval Effects: Low
Critical UN: No
Allow Gov Change (New): Yes

MILITARY SETTINGS:

Fog of War: Yes
Enhanced Spotting: Yes
Units Eliminated when Region Falls: No
Allow Nuclear Weapons: Yes

GAME SETTINGS:

Scheduled Game End: None
Military Difficulty: Easy
Economic Difficultly: Easy
Diplomatic Difficulty: Easy
Allied Victory: No
Fixed Capitals: Yes
Hot Relations: No
Start Game without units: No

VICTORY CONDITIONS: Complete

WORLD VOLATITLITY: None

Will post details of game soon.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mar 17 2014 
Offline
Lieutenant

Joined: Mar 16 2014
Posts: 51
Human: Yes
Okay, so the first espionage message came as it always did. East Germany Suspected West Germany (or the other way round) but couldn't prove it. They then announced that West Germany had tried to undermine them or sabotage them or something. Meanwhile, my defence readiness was increased. The netherlands offered me military units and demanded money, but strangely offered more. I accepted. A similar offer came from Canada with the same response.

West Germany was then attacked. Straight up to DEFCON 3. I held off on the Wardec, just to see what would happen. Russia declared war anyway.

Well, I've just tried, emphasis on that word, to fight the war. After several frustrating minutes of trying to get my units to cross into enemy territory and carry out my attack order--they would not go over the border, for some completely bizzarre reason--I'm a little underwhelmed. Could be that I didn't officially declare war against East Germany, actually. But anyway, this game is incredibly hard to pick up, and there are no good guides out there at all. I"ll keep trying though. Regardless, any advice on this bug?

EDIT: Also important to note that I had to create a new game, as I was unable to continue the one I saved when I made the settings post.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited