Tooltips not showing

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
MikeKoder
Sergeant
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 17 2013
Human: Yes

Tooltips not showing

#1 Post by MikeKoder » Nov 13 2013

So all of a sudden my tooltips are no longer showing anymore. I can't see what the options are for the ministers, I can't see the recommended amount of money to spend on a social program, I can't see the troops in a hex, nothing. I uninstalled the game and reinstalled the game and I still have the issue. I deleted all the save games, I reset the options, and I verified game files on steam. Nothing. What is going on?

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Tooltips not showing

#2 Post by Balthagor » Nov 13 2013

No idea, we've had no reports of anything like this. Anyone else run into this problem?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2597
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Tooltips not showing

#3 Post by number47 » Nov 13 2013

Balthagor wrote:No idea, we've had no reports of anything like this. Anyone else run into this problem?
Balth, you're really "on a roll" lately, with steam version :lol:
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Tooltips not showing

#4 Post by Balthagor » Nov 13 2013

I don't think this has anything to do with the Steam version. He didn't say which version he had. And we've been updating 2020, not CW.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

MikeKoder
Sergeant
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 17 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Tooltips not showing

#5 Post by MikeKoder » Nov 13 2013

Running 7.3.7. Problem seems to have started when I did the following: I downloaded and installed Fistalis' Satellite mod to add the 2020 satellites to CW. Then when a friend and I wanted to play a multiplayer game he couldn't connect to me so I thought it might be the mod and just had steam reverify the files to uninstall the mod. (BTW didn't solve the connection problem, but I was able to connect to him so no problem.) But when we started the game I noticed I had no tooltips then. After we got done I figured a simple restart of the game would fix it. No. That's when I did the uninstall/reinstall, etc. I posted above.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Tooltips not showing

#6 Post by Balthagor » Nov 13 2013

Find your savegame folder and go up one level. There should be a an Options.ini file. Mine is in \Documents\My Games\Supreme Ruler Cold War. Delete that file and restart the game. Let me know if that fixes it.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

MikeKoder
Sergeant
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 17 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Tooltips not showing

#7 Post by MikeKoder » Nov 13 2013

I'm afraid it did not help. Interesting note thought: On the State Department tab the population menu will pop up when you hover over the people icon and I can get the approval ratings tooltip to pop up when I hover over the icons, but they flicker.

User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2597
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Tooltips not showing

#8 Post by number47 » Nov 13 2013

seems he messed up the haps...
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

MikeKoder
Sergeant
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 17 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Tooltips not showing

#9 Post by MikeKoder » Nov 13 2013

I took some initiative and deleted the HAPs folder and then reacquired it through Steam. No fix. Also tried using the hardware cursor and didn't help either.

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3298
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Tooltips not showing

#10 Post by Fistalis » Nov 14 2013

MikeKoder wrote:I took some initiative and deleted the HAPs folder and then reacquired it through Steam. No fix. Also tried using the hardware cursor and didn't help either.
If Reacquiring the HAPS folder didn't fix it then It's not mod related. (btw the Sats mod isn't compatible with 7.3.7 I haven't updated it in ages, also for future reference my mods won't effect multiplayer connections)

Did you try a full uninstall/reinstall through steam yet? Or deleting the options.ini as balt suggested?
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

barkhauer
Colonel
Posts: 397
Joined: Oct 12 2008

Re: Tooltips not showing

#11 Post by barkhauer » Nov 15 2013

Don't just uninstall, completely delete the folders (Program Filesx86 AND the one in your user folder) and then reinstall. I think you have a lingering file which isn't being cleaned up by the uninstaller.

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Issues - SRCW”