Targeting specific buildings?

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Message
Author
Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Targeting specific buildings?

#1 Post by Scoose » Jan 01 2012

Hi, I am having problems targeting specific buildings when firing missiles from bombers/aircraft, I havent tried with sea units but from aircraft I cannot pick which building I want to hit, it just auto targets the main complex and does not give me the choice. Is this the way it is meant to be or amI doing something wrong?

Thanks
Pete.

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#2 Post by Scoose » Jan 03 2012

can anybody help me with this please?

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#3 Post by Scoose » Jan 06 2012

6 days and no answer?
All that I want is for you to tell me if firing cruise missiles can i target an anti aircraft site or barracks, or is it meant to be that I cannot choose. If i can choose can you tell me how please then I will know if my game is bugged and if it is I can send you a save game. Thanks Pete.

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3300
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#4 Post by Fistalis » Jan 06 2012

Your not alone. It seems the ability to target specific facilities was removed, or just hasn't been reimplemnted.
Whats worse is that if there are any units on a hex.. you cannot target any facility and are forced to target units instead.

Definitely on my wish list. You have my full support in poking the devs to fix this. :wink:
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#5 Post by Scoose » Jan 06 2012

Thanks mate, thats all I wanted to know was to make sure I wasnt being a tool :P.
Really miss it, do your cruise missiles hit units at a city or complex before they hit the complex?

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3300
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#6 Post by Fistalis » Jan 06 2012

Scoose wrote:Thanks mate, thats all I wanted to know was to make sure I wasnt being a tool :P.
Really miss it, do your cruise missiles hit units at a city or complex before they hit the complex?
When you choose fire missile.. if there are units in a hex it brings up the list of units and forces you to choose one, you can't just target the hex. Since facilities aren't included in the target list like they were in 2020 you have no choice but to target a unit.
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#7 Post by Scoose » Jan 06 2012

Yeah thats what I thought, real waste of cruise missiles. Hope this gets fixed as to me it is definatly broken :(
Thanks again.

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3300
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#8 Post by Fistalis » Jan 06 2012

Scoose wrote:Yeah thats what I thought, real waste of cruise missiles. Hope this gets fixed as to me it is definatly broken :(
Thanks again.
Couldn't agree more. Until we hear anything from BG on it I'll poke around and see if this is something I can implement. :wink:
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#9 Post by Scoose » Jan 06 2012

Would love to be able to help but my only modding experience only went as far as changing Missile Fabs produce 10 missiles instead of 1 :P. Ofcourse if you need help testing anything I would be more than happy to offer my services :D goodluck mate.

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3300
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#10 Post by Fistalis » Jan 06 2012

Scoose wrote:Would love to be able to help but my only modding experience only went as far as changing Missile Fabs produce 10 missiles instead of 1 :P. Ofcourse if you need help testing anything I would be more than happy to offer my services :D goodluck mate.
Well.. as far as I can tell.. no current order allows you to target a specific building. Even sabotage just targets the hex in general and you get a building at random. |O
Best I can figure so far is maybe make a separate order to target facilities only. Which would by pass the being forced to target units, but you still wouldn't be able to select the specific facility you wanted to target. Similar to how bomb facility works now.

(If i played more and modded less I woulda been complaining about this sooner.)
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#11 Post by Balthagor » Jan 06 2012

noted, I'll see what I can figure out for the next update.
16474
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#12 Post by Scoose » Jan 07 2012

Thanks again, really miss taking out other countrys air defences, fabs, barracks and air fields plus infastructure buildings.

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#13 Post by Scoose » Sep 21 2014

Bump, just to show I am not alone lol. Also to get to 100 posts :P

HeadClot
Corporal
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 21 2014
Human: Yes

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#14 Post by HeadClot » Sep 21 2014

Scoose wrote:Thanks again, really miss taking out other countrys air defences, fabs, barracks and air fields plus infastructure buildings.
I did not know that this was a thing in cold war.

That said - I look forward to targeting air defenses.

Scoose
Major
Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 27 2008
Location: Liverpool

Re: Targeting specific buildings?

#15 Post by Scoose » Sep 22 2014

HeadClot wrote:
Scoose wrote:Thanks again, really miss taking out other countrys air defences, fabs, barracks and air fields plus infastructure buildings.
I did not know that this was a thing in cold war.

That said - I look forward to targeting air defenses.

It wasn't in cold war, it was in 2020 they left it out of cw onwards :(

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Issues - SRCW”