Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

Place bug reports / questions here.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
Draken
General
Posts: 1162
Joined: Jul 14 2004
Human: Yes
Location: Space Coast, FL

Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#1 Post by Draken » Jul 19 2011

X:490 Y:360 Says PROLAMAR...Should be PORLAMAR

[Edit by moderator: Thread renamed]
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent.
Isaac Asimov, Salvor Hardin in "Foundation"
-
Si vis pacem, para bellum
-
It is hard to free fools from the chains they revere.
Voltaire

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19961
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#2 Post by Balthagor » Jul 19 2011

LeonTrotsky wrote:Not to point anything wrong out. But just a spelling mistake I found randomly looking at US towns. It should be Caldwell instead of Cadwell. (Town is just outside of Boise, ID) Just something for your next update!

-Great game!
From another thread...
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3302
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#3 Post by Fistalis » Jul 19 2011

interest is misspelled in the bond report.

"New Debt Intereset rate"


(might be wrong thread but long as you get the message)

EDIT by Daxon (BattleGoat) - thanks for noting this. It is now fixed. It will now be found in our next update (not update zero). Cheers
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.

Snowpig
Lieutenant
Posts: 75
Joined: May 04 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#4 Post by Snowpig » Jul 20 2011

The soviet space agency is called: ИНТЕРКОСМОС - not NНТЕРКОСМОС

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19961
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#5 Post by Balthagor » Jul 20 2011

Snowpig wrote:The soviet space agency is called: ИНТЕРКОСМОС - not NНТЕРКОСМОС
We don't have a Cyrillic font...
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

qweasd
Sergeant
Posts: 24
Joined: Nov 23 2008

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#6 Post by qweasd » Jul 20 2011

The border between North and South Korea in 1948 was a straight line on the 38th parallel. The Military Demarcation Line wasn't established until 1953.

Image

Edit - also possibly worth mentioning, Kaliningrad was not a separate administrative unit of the USSR, it was part of the Russian SFSR (which is not modelled in the game, but should be). If Kaliningrad is given its own status, the following territories also should:
Abkhaz ASSR
Adyghe AO
Adjar ASSR
Bashkir ASSR
Buryat ASSR
Chechen-Ingush ASSR
Chukotka AO
Chuvash ASSR
Dagestan ASSR
Dzierzynszczyzna AO
Gorno-Altai AO
Jewish AO
Kabardino-Balkar ASSR
Kalmyk ASSR
Karachay-Cherkess AO
Karakalpak ASSR
Khahas AO
Komi ASSR
Marchlewszczyzna AO
Mari ASSR
Mordovian ASSR
Nagorno-Karabakh AO
Nakhchivan ASSR
Northern Ossetian ASSR
South Ossetian AO
Tatar ASSR
Tuva ASSR
Udmurt ASSR
Yakut ASSR


In addition, the Karelo-Finnish SSR existed at the time, a first-level administrative subdivision of the USSR, and should be shown in-game.
Last edited by qweasd on Jul 20 2011, edited 1 time in total.

kkania
Lieutenant
Posts: 91
Joined: Nov 14 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#7 Post by kkania » Jul 20 2011

qweasd wrote:The border between North and South Korea in 1948 was a straight line on the 38th parallel. The Military Demarcation Line wasn't established until 1953.
Oooh. Nice one.

User avatar
Legend
General
Posts: 2531
Joined: Sep 08 2002
Human: Yes
Location: Ancaster, Ontario - BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#8 Post by Legend » Jul 20 2011

Added the Korean border to our task list for review...
15826 - Korean Border


As for Kaliningrad, I believe this falls under our rules for colonies to be a colony. Foreign or overseas holdings are shown as colonies. Colonies are a broad container used for many regions in our game.

Additionally, we chose not to divide up regions further as suggested for gameplay reasons, engine limitations etc. Feel free to comment further.

- Daxon, BattleGoat Studios

Snowpig
Lieutenant
Posts: 75
Joined: May 04 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#9 Post by Snowpig » Jul 20 2011

Sandbox game: Iraqi leader has no name

LiKaapstad
Colonel
Posts: 300
Joined: Jun 02 2011
Human: Yes
Location: Rockwall, Tx

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#10 Post by LiKaapstad » Jul 21 2011

Snowpig wrote:Sandbox game: Iraqi leader has no name
lol I noticed this aswell. I think the Iraqi president is hidding durring the game or just doesnt want to put his name on the internet :lol:
NO PROP 8 California...Equality for ALL

kkania
Lieutenant
Posts: 91
Joined: Nov 14 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#11 Post by kkania » Jul 21 2011

From the Paradox forums: Crimea was a part of RSFSR in 1949.


On 19 February 1954, the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the Soviet Union issued a decree on the transfer of the Crimean Oblast from the RSFSR to the Ukrainian SSR.
- (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crimea#Cri ... _centuries)

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19961
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#12 Post by Balthagor » Jul 21 2011

As stated on the Paradox forum, Crimea is part of the Ukraine by design. The engine can't transfer it and that's only a few years out.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

qweasd
Sergeant
Posts: 24
Joined: Nov 23 2008

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#13 Post by qweasd » Jul 21 2011

Maybe there's also a case for depicting the Yugoslav republics, if the SSRs are there...

Still, a pretty major one - Volgograd, USSR. It should be Stalingrad.

Also, colonial Laos shows a Yugoslav flag.

Gracuul
Captain
Posts: 108
Joined: Jul 20 2011
Human: Yes
Location: U.S. Army Garrison, Hawaii

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#14 Post by Gracuul » Jul 21 2011

Hawaii wasn't annexed by the U.S. until August 21, 1959. Though if you had it as a colony(territory) I don't know if it would be possible to have it annexed on said day.
Only the dead have seen the end of the war.
-George Santayana

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19961
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Map Errata (Toponymic or Position)

#15 Post by Balthagor » Jul 21 2011

qweasd wrote:Maybe there's also a case for depicting the Yugoslav republics, if the SSRs are there...

Still, a pretty major one - Volgograd, USSR. It should be Stalingrad.

Also, colonial Laos shows a Yugoslav flag.
This thread is for errata meaning "clearly wrong". Suggestions for changes should go in the Dev forums please.

Thanks for the other two. City names was even wrong on my reference sheet from my research! My fault [_]O
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Post Reply

Return to “Issues & Support”