changing supply model?

This forum has been archived. Please use the new modding forum. If you need to retrieve a thread from here, contact BattleGoat.

Moderators: Balthagor, BattleGoat

Post Reply
mattpilot
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 224
Joined: Feb 09 2012
Human: Yes

changing supply model?

Post by mattpilot »

Did a search on wiki and forum here, but not found what i'm looking for.


I'm wondering if it is possible to tweak the amount the supply spreads per hex. I'm not talking about the amount the buildings put out, but how much/how far it spreads.

I want to reduce it quite a bit. Assuming there's no global modifier, i was thinking i can modify all the terrain data and just up the amount supply decay's (since i read on wiki mountains slow supply more than other tiles).

But the wiki's modding guide has no explainer for the .TERX file, and i dont know whats what in that file ;-)


any ideas?
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20505
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: changing supply model?

Post by Balthagor »

mattpilot wrote:...But the wiki's modding guide has no explainer for the .TERX file...
Actually, it does;

http://www.supremewiki.com/node/301

Not sure if that has the supply decay info though...

Also, the wiki doesn't cover the later columns added in SRCW that define the terrain textures.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
mattpilot
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 224
Joined: Feb 09 2012
Human: Yes

Re: changing supply model?

Post by mattpilot »

Thanks!

i could of sworn this page: http://www.supremewiki.com/node/42 had terrain data with no link just a few hours ago :-)


Welp.. i guess this is not the file i'm looking for, as it doesn't seem to cover supply ( "sup" being undefined). Supply Decay is not hard coded, is it?
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20505
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: changing supply model?

Post by Balthagor »

Actually, George confirmed for me that the ter file does have the supply properties. Neither of us can remember which values it relates too.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20505
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: changing supply model?

Post by Balthagor »

I think M15 is the supply decay.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
mattpilot
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 224
Joined: Feb 09 2012
Human: Yes

Re: changing supply model?

Post by mattpilot »

ha! fuggin awesome!

It works, thanks a lot!



I trippled all those values and i got the desired effect of having supply be focused around roads even in the 'industrialized' world - not just afrika. :-)

Though i think i should up them to a minimum of 50, (plains, etc..) and remove supply sources from small villages to make europe and asia more interesting aswell.

Wonder if the AI can handle it - time will tell! :D
mattpilot
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 224
Joined: Feb 09 2012
Human: Yes

Re: changing supply model?

Post by mattpilot »

hmm.. maybe not remove supply from towns - it would put to many industries out of work.

Though i like how the reduced supply away from roads has affected the global market. Most excellent! :-)

I take it the AI does not build roads? just like it doesn't build Military complexes ?
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: changing supply model?

Post by number47 »

mattpilot wrote:I take it the AI does not build roads? just like it doesn't build Military complexes ?
Yup, no roads, no military/industrial complexes... :-(
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 591
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: changing supply model?

Post by georgios »

number47 wrote:no roads, no military/industrial complexes... :-(
This would be the most needed AI upgrade.
georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 591
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: changing supply model?

Post by georgios »

mattpilot wrote:hmm.. maybe not remove supply from towns - it would put to many industries out of work.
Then only hexes with road would be supplied.
Post Reply

Return to “Modding SRCW”