An alternative Radiation Effects model?

Have a feature request for SRCW? Post here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Onthebeach
Lieutenant
Human: Yes

An alternative Radiation Effects model?

Post by Onthebeach »

Hi Developers,
there have been a number of posts about the lack of "radiation effects" in the game, and these usually start asking for weather effects to be added to the game. Now, I am not a programmer but can see that adding weather in order to simulate radiation spread could be hideously complicated.

I have a possible solution which MAY not be too hard to implement - tell me if it would be, though, so I can understand if I am asking for too much!

OK! First you have to make an arbitrary decision as to how much nuking a hex can take without being subject to radiation effect. Lets say, for this example, it has to have at least one megaton of damage, be that ONE bomb or several smaller ones. Anything smaller is not worth modeling.

Let's assume a B-52 is nuking Moscow and is delivering at least one megaton. That hex is now permanently RADIATED. It can still support population, troops and facilities but anything in that hex will henceforth accumulate damage over time (lets say 10% per month) so would either waste away or have to "spend" resources to repair the damage. Simply moving out of the radiated area would halt the progressive damage. It would make players have to decide either to keep facilities in the hex, or scrap them and relocate, either way causing lots of inconvenience and would model the disruptions a real nuke war would cause.

You would need to add a filter to the map, probably, to show RADIATED areas. Another refinement may be that seriously radiated hexes (25 megatons or more) may have a one-hex zone around them which suffers half-damage effects and is also considered RADIATED.