What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Have a feature request for SRCW? Post here.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by number47 »

We've got news!

An extremely talented person has started to work on the Tiger II :wink:
When he is done, he will donate the models to BG so they can implement them in the game if they decide they meet their requirements. 8O

His King Tiger looks great if you ask me :D !
Last edited by number47 on Oct 05 2012, edited 1 time in total.
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
MK4
Colonel
Posts: 488
Joined: Oct 08 2011
Human: Yes

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by MK4 »

That would make a - very welcomed - first as far as I am aware. I`ve always wondered why there aren`t unit packs around the modding community.

Regarding the topic(and excluding what you`ve announced), if I were to pick just a handful of units to get a new model/texture I`d go with the following:

1. Tu-95
2. Su-27
3. Leopard 1
4. MT-LB

And also it would really be nice if there were two versions(an eastern and western) of the dismounted infantrymen(special/elite forces, paratroopers etc.). Perhaps a slightly different uniform, but more importantly, different assault rifles for the two sides(oversimplifying I`d say an AK-47 for the eastern version and an M16 for their western counterparts).
SGTscuba
General
Posts: 1967
Joined: Dec 08 2007
Location: Tipton, UK

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by SGTscuba »

Would it be possible to use Blender or sketchup (save them as collada files perhaps? works for SL) to make models for these (or would it be acceptable to make them in programs and send you them in a format that 3dsmax could use?)? if yes, then I MAY have a go myself....
My SR:U Model Project, get the latest and post suggestions here:

http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=28040
MK4
Colonel
Posts: 488
Joined: Oct 08 2011
Human: Yes

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by MK4 »

SGTscuba wrote:Would it be possible to use Blender
According to the posts here:
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 00#p133200
yes.
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by number47 »

"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
SGTscuba
General
Posts: 1967
Joined: Dec 08 2007
Location: Tipton, UK

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by SGTscuba »

It is a bit confusing between those 2 (I had read that wiki article before, hence the question). Balth is the information on that forum thread still true? (also mentions on wiki only sending him 2 files which BG would convert themselves)

aka
be in .MAX format with a .PNG texture file of 512x512.
(would a non max format be acceptable?)
My SR:U Model Project, get the latest and post suggestions here:

http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=28040
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by number47 »

I understood those are 2 instructions, one to create models to be implemented in a self-made mod, and second for those who whish to donate models for the game...but I could be wrong :-?
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by number47 »

SGTscuba wrote:Would it be possible to use Blender or sketchup (save them as collada files perhaps? works for SL) to make models for these (or would it be acceptable to make them in programs and send you them in a format that 3dsmax could use?)? if yes, then I MAY have a go myself....
If you save them as collada, you can convert them with blender to .x format...
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
MK4
Colonel
Posts: 488
Joined: Oct 08 2011
Human: Yes

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by MK4 »

The wiki article dates to the SR2020 time I think. The post in that thread is more recent in such case. Neither of the two methods(sending the models and converting them yourself) exclude each other. Basically the most important part is to keep the model "small", withing the range Balthagor mentioned and have the texture of a proper size.

That said, is the camouflage rule of SR2020 still applying in CW? In SR2020 all infantry units had a certain camouflage pattern per class(infantry, recon, artillery etc.) so that they`re easily distinguishable.
http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 189#p83189
The tanks for example had the desert camouflage, but in CW I see that the newly added tanks(old cold war designs I think) came in dark olive green. It would be important to know what`s the standard in this regard for CW.
Ragu
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 574
Joined: Dec 14 2008
Location: Elland, West Yorkshire, England.

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by Ragu »

SGTscuba: I would imagine .OBJ/.3ds would be fine. The .MAX file is ok, but iirc BG are still on an older version of 3ds max, so if you created a file on a newer version, there is no save file backwards compatablility, so the .MAX file would be useless.

.FBX is a nice file-type to export to, and since it's an Autodesk product things should be ok.

Blender is a perfectly fine 3d app to create any 3d asset's with. Also Blender has a built in .x file format (which is the one that SR requires meshes to be in.)
Image
SGTscuba
General
Posts: 1967
Joined: Dec 08 2007
Location: Tipton, UK

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by SGTscuba »

Ragu wrote: Also Blender has a built in .x file format (which is the one that SR requires meshes to be in.)
I have got the latest version of blender, but there is no option to export it as a .x file (there is a x3d and fbx however).
My SR:U Model Project, get the latest and post suggestions here:

http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=28040
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3306
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by Fistalis »

SGTscuba wrote:
Ragu wrote: Also Blender has a built in .x file format (which is the one that SR requires meshes to be in.)
I have got the latest version of blender, but there is no option to export it as a .x file (there is a x3d and fbx however).
You need an older version of blender to import/export .x .. theres a thread around here where I went through all the steps I had to take to get it to work.


Edit found it.
Fistalis wrote:
Jopo wrote:Ok, thx for the info.
But where can I get .x file import/export scripts for blender, does anyone know?
This will allow you to export files into the .x format. But will not Import.
http://development.mindfloaters.de/Dire ... d.8.0.html

If you Want to IMPORT/Export .x files with blender you'll need an older version of blender. 2.49 was the last version that could do it. IT can be found here.
http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.49/

It also requieres you install python which can be found here.
http://www.python.org/download/releases/2.7.2/

(as much i Hate art modding I figured i'd at least do the research I can to allow others to do it :wink: )
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.
SGTscuba
General
Posts: 1967
Joined: Dec 08 2007
Location: Tipton, UK

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by SGTscuba »

Got blender working with python now, but when I press import and select on the .x file, it doesn't open it (and gives no message). I was trying to open one of the .x files that are within the SR graphics folder so I could have a look at how they set up the turreted models.

Using the older version with import/export, but wont let me import any of them (not even ones I created)
My SR:U Model Project, get the latest and post suggestions here:

http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=28040
Fistalis
General
Posts: 3306
Joined: Jun 23 2009
Human: Yes
Location: x:355 y:216
Contact:

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by Fistalis »

It works its just kinda confusing at first.. I went through the same thing. Make sure you remove any other objects before importing. like the default cube etc.
Last edited by Fistalis on Apr 12 2012, edited 1 time in total.
Si vis pacem, para bellum
my Supreme Ruler mods Site
Redistribution of my mods is prohibited. By downloading them you agree to not redistribute the file(s) without expressed permission.
SGTscuba
General
Posts: 1967
Joined: Dec 08 2007
Location: Tipton, UK

Re: What units do you think need/deserve different 3D model?

Post by SGTscuba »

Fistalis wrote:It works its just kinda confusing at first.. I went through the same thing.
So how did you get it to work then? The python console output says its imported, but it doesn't show it anywhere (do I have to go into a mode? or open them from somewhere? any extra files besides the x I have to select?)
My SR:U Model Project, get the latest and post suggestions here:

http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 79&t=28040
Post Reply

Return to “Suggestions - SRCW”