Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

Put all your MP game discussions right here.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Moderators

Message
Author
Hundane
General
Posts: 1857
Joined: Sep 11 2008

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#16 Post by Hundane » Oct 24 2009

* if you see a user who's name is italicized, that means that GameRanger has determined it cannot connect you to that player.
Thats good info to know right there, I noticed this on a few players on that test but did not know thats what it meant.

dragons310
Lieutenant
Posts: 50
Joined: Dec 09 2009
Human: Yes
Location: US

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#17 Post by dragons310 » Dec 29 2009

I've had issues getting multiplayer games working, and may have come across the reason...I forget where you mentioned it Balthagor, but you said the game uses directplay. Wikipedia had this to say about directplay...

"
Wikipedia.org wrote: However, as part of Microsoft's unveiling of XNA in 2004, Microsoft revealed that DirectPlay would be deprecated in favor of Games for Windows - Live technology already available on Xbox and being ported for use on Windows PCs. DirectPlay will be supported in DirectX DLLs for the lifetime of Microsoft Windows XP, but from the autumn of 2007 [2] the headers and libraries — vital components if developers wanted to develop new programs that utilize the technology — were absent from DirectX SDK.

In Windows Vista, DirectPlay has been deprecated and DirectPlay Voice and DirectPlay's NAT Helper have been removed.
something worth looking into?
GR #558857

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19951
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#18 Post by Balthagor » Dec 29 2009

We're aware of all of that but we included all the required DirectPlay components.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

confused-in-IL
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 01 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#19 Post by confused-in-IL » Oct 01 2010

As you can tell from my name I am extremely confused. I have global crisis and 2020 on my computer and I have been trying to play a Lan game with my brother yet every time I try to host the game its doesnt work. Is Gold not compatible with GC in multiplayer? Can anyone help?

Hullu Hevonen
General
Posts: 3602
Joined: Dec 11 2008
Location: Turunmaa/Turunseutu, Suomi
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#20 Post by Hullu Hevonen » Oct 02 2010

confused-in-IL wrote:As you can tell from my name I am extremely confused. I have global crisis and 2020 on my computer and I have been trying to play a Lan game with my brother yet every time I try to host the game its doesnt work. Is Gold not compatible with GC in multiplayer? Can anyone help?
check these
1. Are you really in a LAN?
2. Gold should be compatible with GC & 2020, or?
3. Do you have a router that supports LAN, or do you use something else(eg. a switch/hub)?
3.1 if so that LAN play is from hardvare part ok, then check your workgroups, so that both are in the same work group.
3.2 check your firewall/anti-virus settings, I have experience with Windows Firewall causing problems.
4. I have some times experienced problems when playing with different Operating systems(especially Vista can be stubborn to get to work).
5. check other setting.
6. when one is hosting and the game does not pop up in the lobby, try the ip option and type in your brothers LAN ip(run->type 'cmd'->ipconfig)


If you don't get it to work in native LAN, then there is other options
1. Make a VLAN(Virtual LAN) network with Hamachi
2. Try using GameRanger, a good tool to get multiplayer to work.
Happy Linux user!
Links: List of Mods

mund5421
Warrant Officer
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 13 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#21 Post by mund5421 » Jan 13 2011

When I go to multiplayer it never stops loading or doesnt have anything posted.why?

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2837
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#22 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 27 2011

New issue with gameranger that has plagued me for a couple of weeks now. When I click on start gameranger I get the following;

"No response from GameRanger server. There was no response after contacting the GameRanger server"

Anyone have any idea what that is about? All other internet and computer functions work fine. I cannot even open the Gameranger web page since I get the same error notice. So no posting on theie forum since it appears to be something special/odd about that forum, starting with the address. gr://forum and a popup asking me if I want to allow this to open on my compute. Never seen that before, but at anyrate even if I click allow, all I get is a page that indicates "logging into GameRanger" and nothing happens. Bottom of page show DONE.

This only started 2 weeks or so ago, prior to that I was able to use GR for almost a year. No updates or changes to my machine except the MS updates for Win 7.

Any suggestions/Ideas?

Hundane
General
Posts: 1857
Joined: Sep 11 2008

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#23 Post by Hundane » Mar 27 2011

I just tried it, havent opened up GR in quite awhile and got a new update but connected just fine. Maybe you got a corrupted update.

Have you tried to uninstall/install ?

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2837
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#24 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 28 2011

I have uninstalled and reinstalled twice, still no joy. It appears like it may be random since a few hours after I posted above it worked again. But I sure would like to figure out why it started doing this.

Hullu Hevonen
General
Posts: 3602
Joined: Dec 11 2008
Location: Turunmaa/Turunseutu, Suomi
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#25 Post by Hullu Hevonen » Mar 28 2011

Have you IE9 isntalled? Gameranger wont work with IE9-Flash for me, I have to have IE8 installed for that :(, but I bet it will see change soon.
Happy Linux user!
Links: List of Mods

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2837
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#26 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 28 2011

Ie8, same one I had when I started using GR, nothing changed on that end. I tried several times today to connect to GR, no luck. I then deleted GR from my system, clicked on download from their website and tried to reinstall it. I get the same message/error that I typed in a post above, after clicking INSTALL. Now I cannot even install it.

And since you cannot even see the support forums without GR being installed I am unable to ask for help or even contact the GR guy. There is no contact info listed on website. No e-mail address, nothing.

I know that at one time he was posting on these forums, hopefully he might see this. I am out of ideas and would hate to throw away a year long game. :(

VT90
Corporal
Posts: 6
Joined: May 11 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#27 Post by VT90 » Aug 05 2011

This may be random but what is the minimum speed required by multi-player games??

Hullu Hevonen
General
Posts: 3602
Joined: Dec 11 2008
Location: Turunmaa/Turunseutu, Suomi
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#28 Post by Hullu Hevonen » Aug 05 2011

I think any speed goes, but if you have all players have fast computers, but one of those players have a slow connection, then the hole game might get slower. The slower the internet the slower the game runs, the same goes for computers.
Happy Linux user!
Links: List of Mods

VT90
Corporal
Posts: 6
Joined: May 11 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#29 Post by VT90 » Aug 05 2011

Thanks, but I can not get it to work with game ranger, any-one know the ports that you have to forward for Supreme Ruler??

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2837
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Playing Supreme Ruler 2020 Multiplayer Games

#30 Post by GIJoe597 » Aug 05 2011

You do not have to forward any, GR does it all for you. But, there are issues if you use a router in some cases. Just bypass router.

Yes
Modem>computer



No
Modem>router>computer

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer Games”