Creating an AAR

Share your memorable games here. Let us know what map you are playing and if it's a modded scenario, let us know where we can play it too.
>>Forum created July 18, 2008<<

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Message
Author
Eskodas
Lieutenant
Posts: 96
Joined: Aug 16 2008
Location: Australia

Creating an AAR

#1 Post by Eskodas » Oct 11 2008

Just an Idea.(edited)

The best way to create an AAR would be to use fraps(http://www.fraps.com) or irfanview(http://www.irfanview.com), can take great pictures and videos which u can then mod with Movie Maker(standard with windows, anyone know a free movie editor that u can download?) and paste on Youtube(http://www.youtube.com), compression you can use vitualdub (http://www.virtualdub.org/download.html) alll completly free.
Last edited by Eskodas on Oct 27 2008, edited 3 times in total.
-Dare to Know

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Re: Creating an AAR

#2 Post by tkobo » Oct 11 2008

Fraps is very good for this, and oddly enough windows movie maker is also good.

Id use some place other than youtube for hosting though,i prefer photobucket.

As for a free movie editing and or compression program,vitrual dub is good for compression and free.

I find the biggest problem, is the sizes.When i take a movie of ingame play,its usually about 4 gigs on my system,than i compress it, and its usually about a couple hundred meg, than i convert it to flv, and its about 70 to 100 meg on my system.

This again gets cut in size by the hosting site, to about 25 meg,when they process it after i upload it to them.

If there was a way to have it all done automatically so it was about 25 meg to being with, id be very happy with it.

During the live 99% video(i lost 4 seconds of game play, due to a edit error on my part) AAR i did here, i usually had right after game play 25 or so films on my machine, each one circa 4 gig in size....

Each one than had to go thru the above process.Its a lot of hard drive space and work.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

Eskodas
Lieutenant
Posts: 96
Joined: Aug 16 2008
Location: Australia

Re: Creating an AAR

#3 Post by Eskodas » Oct 13 2008

I was thinking only videoing important events and big military battles combined with pictures and text to explain what happened, that should cut down on the size of the file.
-Dare to Know

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Re: Creating an AAR

#4 Post by tkobo » Oct 13 2008

Sometimes you dont know an important event has happened, well, til it has...
Too late to video it then :lol:

But yes, as long as you accept your gonna miss some events,it works out well.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Leafgreen
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 207
Joined: Apr 06 2006
Location: Emerald City
Contact:

Re: Creating an AAR

#5 Post by Leafgreen » Oct 17 2008

Always loved Irfanview myself. Great little editor/player/compressor, freeware and been around for years. And after just trying to take a screenshot of a webpage and fraps not being able to, i love irfanview even more. Foreground, client screen, entire screen, show mouse or not, etc. =)
"That's O'neill, with two l's"
(Holds up 3 fingers)

geminif4ucorsair
General
Posts: 1286
Joined: Jun 08 2005

Re: Downloading FRAPS - guide

#6 Post by geminif4ucorsair » Feb 15 2009

How about a quick and simple guide to inputting FRAPS into AARs?

Thanks in advance.

tonystowe
Colonel
Posts: 462
Joined: Apr 10 2006
Location: Tennessee

Re: Creating an AAR

#7 Post by tonystowe » Mar 10 2010

I was going to be an over-achiever with the AAR writing and went to the trouble to creating a full AAR that included pictures, commentary from military "specialists", etc somewhat equal to that seen on major news networks and print media. The finished product was fascinating, intrigueing (to me at any rate), and was enjoyable to read in the news paper format. The problem was that I never figured out a way to post it on this site and the ultimate accident recently happened in which my computer crashed and had to be reloaded - with me losing the entire project... arrggghhhh! Now I am trying to find my CD Key to reload this great game....

Tony

red_romanov
Sergeant
Posts: 11
Joined: Sep 09 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Creating an AAR

#8 Post by red_romanov » Sep 13 2011

Making AAR sounds interesting to me, only I'm not a fluent English user and my game went far enough. All I have is game saves after each region falls.

JerzeeGamer
Sergeant
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 26 2012
Human: Yes
Location: Trenton, NJ (USA)

Re: Creating an AAR

#9 Post by JerzeeGamer » Nov 27 2012

Is it acceptable to the forum to post a text-only AAR? I guess it would be more like a journal than an AAR. I'm not able to do the pictures and video since I play at home and do the forum at work, but I do wanna share my experiences with the forum....

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Creating an AAR

#10 Post by Balthagor » Nov 27 2012

There is no rule against it. You could try and see what kind of feedback you get.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

JerzeeGamer
Sergeant
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 26 2012
Human: Yes
Location: Trenton, NJ (USA)

Re: Creating an AAR

#11 Post by JerzeeGamer » Nov 27 2012

Balthagor wrote:There is no rule against it. You could try and see what kind of feedback you get.
Here's the link to my "journal": http://www.bgforums.com/forums/viewtopi ... 54&t=21019

When I'm home later tonight I'll gather some data and write some more in it. Thanks!

Ricent1
Captain
Posts: 105
Joined: Jan 15 2014
Human: Yes
Location: Sebastian, Florida

Re: Creating an AAR

#12 Post by Ricent1 » Feb 05 2014

I have just recently found this forum and not sure if folks are still playing 2020 anymore much. I have tried to play the most impossible game I can imagine.

I have been playing an extremely tense game as Kosovo. High volatility, very hard diplomacy military and economy. No trades of techs or military designs except for USA's national guard Humvee. I make no treaties in Europe and only become allies with non-european countries that agree within the first week of the game based on friendship status alone and not sweetening the offer in any way.

After 4 tries, Serbia decided to pick on Bosnia rather than me. I have survived and am clinging to life in 2023. I wanted to make an AAR with pictures, but when I hit print screen or alt+print screen and try to paste to a word document, I only get my desktop picture that is running behind the game. It even shows the sr2020 icon at the bottom with my Firefox icon and Steam icon showing me I am running the game. What am I doing wrong? I downloaded "snag it" in hopes that would change, but still the map is not there and just the desktop.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2599
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Creating an AAR

#13 Post by number47 » Feb 06 2014

Ricent1 wrote:I wanted to make an AAR with pictures, but when I hit print screen or alt+print screen and try to paste to a word document, I only get my desktop picture that is running behind the game. It even shows the sr2020 icon at the bottom with my Firefox icon and Steam icon showing me I am running the game. What am I doing wrong? I downloaded "snag it" in hopes that would change, but still the map is not there and just the desktop.

Any suggestions?
I experienced the same issue when I transferred from winXP to Win7 but alt+printscrn worked for me...if nothing works, you can always try Fraps :wink:
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

Hullu Hevonen
General
Posts: 3601
Joined: Dec 11 2008
Location: Turunmaa/Turunseutu, Suomi
Contact:

Re: Creating an AAR

#14 Post by Hullu Hevonen » Feb 06 2014

I use OBS, good multicore support and actually works well on AMD platforms
Happy Linux user!
Links: List of Mods

Ricent1
Captain
Posts: 105
Joined: Jan 15 2014
Human: Yes
Location: Sebastian, Florida

Re: Creating an AAR

#15 Post by Ricent1 » Feb 06 2014

Thanks gentlemen, I will try each of those. Do either of you have Windows 8? I am wondering if that may be part of the problem.

Post Reply

Return to “AAR - After Action Reports - 2020”