power plants

Discussion about Production and Resources

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
maximus1984
Corporal
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 20 2006

power plants

#1 Post by maximus1984 » Mar 21 2006

coal power plants use coal. petrol p.p. use petrol.

BUT what do hydro and especially synthetic power plants use to produce electricity?????

If they don't use anything they are very adventagous according to the other plants.

User avatar
draculin
Sergeant
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 15 2006

#2 Post by draculin » Mar 21 2006

You are right..they use "nothing" :D

But are not such and advantage - e.g. hydro-dams can be built only on some few places and are quite expensive. So unless you play Norway (+some other countries), you cannot fill your energy need only by them.

Other plants i undestand as "alternative" sources of energy..like solar or wind. Drawback with them is that their output is quite small.. So usually you will end with petrol and nuclear plants anyway :wink:

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#3 Post by tkobo » Mar 21 2006

I always elimante all resource using power plants and replace them .
Oil and coal are extremely important to your goods productions.They are among the main limiting factors that can stop you from producing the goods your region needs.

So wasting them on power production,when i can generate that power without using them i view as wasteful.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#4 Post by Balthagor » Mar 21 2006

Hydro and Other plants are however more expensive to maintain and you need more of them at achieve the same power output.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#5 Post by tkobo » Mar 21 2006

Thats very true. However maintance costs dont include fuel used.

I havent look at this in the math specifically yet.So im going to here.

Region germany.All power plants used for math 100%.All powerplants used supply level very close if not exact.

Coal powerplant maintance- circa $117 mil a year.

Other powerplant maintance- circa $585 mil a year

So, we start out with a huge cost difference.Now lets add in the fuel and see how much this changes.

Coal powerplant fuel usage circa 7,000ton /day at circa $55/ton for circa $385,000/day extra

Other powerplant fuel usage circa 0/day for $0/day extra

This combined to a yearly total.

Coal powerplant maintance- circa $117 mil a year + circa $141mil in fuel =circa 258mil/year total.

Other powerplant maintance- circa $585 mil a year+ zero =$585mil/year



Coal powerplant costs circa $258mil/year for circa 49k production
Other powerplant costs circa $585mil/year for circa 39k production


So , if you have the coal to use, coal production clearly is more economically sound to use.By over 2 to 1.

Hmm, guess i might just change my mind on this,IF the fuel for the region is abundant.

Things this doesnt take into considation:
Money that can be gained thru sales of fuel you dont use yourself.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

BigStone
General
Posts: 1444
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#6 Post by BigStone » Mar 21 2006

You can upgrade your alternative plants... :wink:
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR

User avatar
Legend
General
Posts: 2616
Joined: Sep 08 2002
Human: Yes
Location: Ancaster, Ontario - BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

#7 Post by Legend » Mar 23 2006

i believe tkobo was using plants in his example at 100% status, so there is no room for upgrading them.

BigStone
General
Posts: 1444
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#8 Post by BigStone » Mar 23 2006

ooops.. have to read more carefully.....
And a morning coffee will also help.... :D
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#9 Post by tkobo » Mar 28 2006

Okay, i am still thinking about this and decided to look at the effect tech has on each.

I found 2 techs that affected coal power production- one that added 15% and one that minused 10%.

I found 2 tech that affected other power production- one that added 30% and one that added 50%

So when tech is considered the output of coal power can increase by 15% and the other power by 80%.


So tech included coal production is like 57k while other production is like 72k

Hmmm,that makes things far more close.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#10 Post by bergsjaeger » Mar 31 2006

I don't think there is a single tech that helps the hydro dams production. The other power techs didn't increase anything so I guess they were just for the other power plants. I wished there was at least one the increased the hydro dams production at least some. It would have helped me in one scenario.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#11 Post by Balthagor » Apr 01 2006

What would that tech be? We're still making notes for if we expand the tech tree...
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

BigStone
General
Posts: 1444
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#12 Post by BigStone » Apr 01 2006

Balthagor wrote:What would that tech be?
Well just keep it simple....

It should be under - Upgraded Clean Power -
Or maybe something like -Upgraded Hydro Generation- (simular to
petrol and coal...)
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#13 Post by Balthagor » Apr 01 2006

I was more wondering if there was something in the real world on which we could model it. Even the mechs in our game use a lot of real technologies currenlty in development.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

BigStone
General
Posts: 1444
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#14 Post by BigStone » Apr 01 2006

Balthagor wrote:I was more wondering if there was something in the real world on which we could model it.
If you could promise the Nobelprice for Physics for me.... :D

I don't think there are (and will be) any techs to boost the hydroproduction

Maybe some better enginering constructions or advanced turbines...

:-?
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#15 Post by bergsjaeger » Apr 01 2006

No such look yet on finding any advancements for hydro dams except one that kills less fish. If there was a way to connect the striling (can't spell it) generators to hydro dams or some kind of better turbine. But I keep looking for some kind of advancements.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

Post Reply

Return to “Production - Commerce Department”