BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Dec 11 2017

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Import Problem
PostPosted: Sep 16 2005 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Sep 12 2005
Posts: 2
I'm wondering how to go about importing stuff since I can't seem to do it. I've tried using manual force buy settings, or letting the minister handle it. Either way I cannot import any ore(playing as Michigan so I have none being produced), which basically shuts down my economy.

WM supposedly has some according to the interface but it won't let me buy anything. Any suggestions?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 16 2005 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20455
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Is the quantity on the World Market in Red? If so, you're being boycotted. If not, the manual purchase should work fine. Have you set the price high enough?

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sep 16 2005 
Offline
Corporal

Joined: Sep 12 2005
Posts: 2
I am not boycotted. I've set the price higher than what they are asking, although I suppose I could try putting it up more.

Edit: I've found the problem -- I didn't have enough cash :P. Thought it would allow me to deficit spend to do imports, incorrectly as it turns out.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 21 2008 
Offline
Warrant Officer

Joined: Aug 04 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
I am in war with three other regions in the Europe map and at peace with 3 or 4 others, and now my commerce is at zero, I can't export or import almost nothing. I am lacking in petrol and nobody seems to sell it anymore? Is it a normal situation?

_________________
"Hail Constantius, Master of the Empire and the World" -Ammianus Marcellinus


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 21 2008 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
Europe map should have a world market right ?

They should have oil to sell.

Of course if your being boycotted by them, or are broke,it gets harder to find oil as most AI regions tend to be short on oil themselves.

So yes, its normal on many maps for the AI regions (NOT counting W.M.) to have little extra oil.

As to why you cant import or export, there are alot of possible reasons.We'd likely need more info to pin it down (or a few guesses :lol: )

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 21 2008 
Offline
Warrant Officer

Joined: Aug 04 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
In the diplomacy screen it appears that Germany, Uk, France have all big stockpiles of oil but they didnt seem willing to trade it. The World Market has a "delighted" opinion about me. I dont know if I am boycotted, where can I verify it?

_________________
"Hail Constantius, Master of the Empire and the World" -Ammianus Marcellinus


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 21 2008 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
Well, if they are delighted with you,its VERY unlikely they are boycotting you.

Im at my shop ,so i cant pop into the game ,which i would need to do to give you explicit directions as to what window has the boycott info.

Have you tried to trade with the regions who have oil thru dilpomatic trades ?

Are you allowing your advisors to control things ? If so, make sure they are not boycotting those your trying to trade with.

Do you have cash to spend ?Treasury not in the red .If your cash broke, try to trade goods or resources thru the diplomatic trade system for oil with the regions who show large surpluses.

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 21 2008 
Offline
Warrant Officer

Joined: Aug 04 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Thanks for the advices Tkobo. Yes I tried to trade oil with diplomacy however it doesnt work 75% of the time, usually I propose consumer or military goods as I am not very rich. I am not boycotting any country I am not in war with. I even left the boycots on the three countries I am in war with just to see what's going to happen! I know where is the boycott screen, as I remember it, it shows the ressources you are boycotting against other countries, it doesnt show if another country boycott me?

I will doublecheck everything tonigh, as I am at work also.

_________________
"Hail Constantius, Master of the Empire and the World" -Ammianus Marcellinus


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 21 2008 
Offline
Warrant Officer

Joined: Aug 04 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Maybe its because I am almost broke and that the import sreen is on autobuy; its likely I dont have enough money for the oil offers I receive. I will try tonight to set the import screen manually, asking for small quantities of oil to see what happens.

_________________
"Hail Constantius, Master of the Empire and the World" -Ammianus Marcellinus


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited