I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

What is the world like in 2020? What are the different ways to play? How can I create my own futuristic scenario and country groupings?

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend

CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

I created my mod earlier today (WAAAY earlier) and I haven't gotten it to create a cache file all day!

I at first, not knowing the proper method, simply left the game running in the main menu.

However, I found out the proper way, and upon attempting to execute the aforementioned plan of action, the game crashes.

I have absolutely no idea what causes this crash or how it can be fixed.

Please help!
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

I fixed the crash, however I cannot get the custom regions to have the territories I want them to. Help!
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Also, it doesn't re-cache.
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by Balthagor »

what files have you changed?

Have you tried restoring the files you changed one at a time to determine which file is broken?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Balthagor wrote:what files have you changed?

Have you tried restoring the files you changed one at a time to determine which file is broken?
I'm not sure I broke a file, seeing as it doesn't crash anymore.
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by Balthagor »

Then what do you mean by "it doesn't re-cache"?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Balthagor wrote:Then what do you mean by "it doesn't re-cache"?
I reset my settings, I select the map without changing any settings, but it doesn't try to create a new cache file.

(I am modding regions if you didn't know)
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by Balthagor »

I think you're going to need to give more details about what you're trying to create, what you've done and where you're stuck.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Balthagor wrote:I think you're going to need to give more details about what you're trying to create, what you've done and where you're stuck.
I grouped several regions into 3 others, making the 3 larger. Those three regions are Poland (Which I've renamed), Japan, and the USSR.

I removed the regions that were grouped from the REGIONINCL file, and I'm pretty sure there's nothing wrong with the scenario file; I only changed it to use the files I made for the mod.
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by Balthagor »

So did you make a new group in the .cvp region that is a grouping of those regions? What is the ID of the group? Is that ID in the RegionINCL? What do you see for those 3 regions on the map when you cache?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Balthagor wrote:So did you make a new group in the .cvp region that is a grouping of those regions? What is the ID of the group? Is that ID in the RegionINCL? What do you see for those 3 regions on the map when you cache?
I didn't create a new region, if that's what you're asking. One is just a renamed Poland and another is Japan with "Imperial" stuck into the beginning. The borders haven't changed at all (Although I'm trying to get them to). The other Region is just an enlarged USSR.
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by Balthagor »

So what files have you modified? From what you've said I figure it's the .scenario, the .cvp, the regionINCL and a cache file. Anything else?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Balthagor wrote:So what files have you modified? From what you've said I figure it's the .scenario, the .cvp, the regionINCL and a cache file. Anything else?
Actually, I haven't done anything with a cache file, it's just that the game won't generate one.

The only other files I edited were in the LOCALEN folder to change names/descriptions.
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by Balthagor »

CommissarKarkhov wrote:
Balthagor wrote:Then what do you mean by "it doesn't re-cache"?
I reset my settings, I select the map without changing any settings, but it doesn't try to create a new cache file...
What does happen why you try and launch the file?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
CommissarKarkhov
Warrant Officer
Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 19 2014
Human: Yes

Re: I need help with mod creation. Please, help me!

Post by CommissarKarkhov »

Balthagor wrote:
CommissarKarkhov wrote:
Balthagor wrote:Then what do you mean by "it doesn't re-cache"?
I reset my settings, I select the map without changing any settings, but it doesn't try to create a new cache file...
What does happen why you try and launch the file?
It just takes me to the normal map, nothing has changed.
Sort of getting back into SR after a years long hiatus.
Post Reply

Return to “Scenarios, Mods and More - 2020”