Cache file

What is the world like in 2020? What are the different ways to play? How can I create my own futuristic scenario and country groupings?

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend

selway11
Corporal
Human: Yes

Cache file

Post by selway11 »

First, let me say; what an awesome game!

Thing is, I was trying to create a new cache file and it all seemed to work. Renamed the "cached" file in my savegame folder and copied it to my cache folder. The problem is when I try to start the game. It doesn't start, it only creates a new cache file.

I'm completely new to this, only picked up the game last week.

I'm trying to create a new cache file from my "Campagn" folder.

I would really appreciate it if someone could walk me through this. I have read and re-read the wiki a number of times..
but it wont work.

Maybe I'm just stupid, aye? :p
Anatolian
Major

Re: Cache file

Post by Anatolian »

Okay so it should create a cache file that appears on your list of saved games.

Go to My documents > My Games > Supreme Ruler 2020 > Savegame folder. Copy the cache file. It should be something like "(cache) World 2020 - GC.sav" for example (depending on what mode you modified, for example it could be global crisis or shattered world).

Copy this file to C:\Program Files\Paradox Interactive\Supreme Ruler 2020\CacheGC

Rename it to World 2020.SAV (or whatever the file is called. Just remove the (cached) part and the -GC part).

Now try.

If your files do not end in "GC" dont worry, it all depends on what version of the game your running.
"One death is a tragedy; one million is a statistic." - Joseph Stalin
selway11
Corporal

Post by selway11 »

Thanks for the reply.

Yeah, I've done that. The problem is when I'm starting a new game with the new "cache file".. it doesn't start, it just creates a new cache in my savegame folder.
Anatolian
Major

Post by Anatolian »

selway11 wrote:Thanks for the reply.