DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

What is the world like in 2020? What are the different ways to play? How can I create my own futuristic scenario and country groupings?

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor

Message
Author
Excentric
Corporal
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 01 2010
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT unit file Browser

#61 Post by Excentric » Jun 02 2010

I found the problem. My game was installed here: "D:\Program Files\Games\Supreme Ruler 2020 Gold" but your (awesome) utility was targeting "D:\Program Files\Supreme Ruler 2020 Gold\...." .

This is an image of the error message: http://i50.tinypic.com/2rhb3fr.jpg

Anyway, I got it to work now by moving my game directory. Time to start editing xD :lol: Thanks mate

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT unit file Browser

#62 Post by catatonic » Jun 02 2010

Excentric wrote:I found the problem. My game was installed here: "D:\Program Files\Games\Supreme Ruler 2020 Gold" but your (awesome) utility was targeting "D:\Program Files\Supreme Ruler 2020 Gold\...." .

This is an image of the error message: http://i50.tinypic.com/2rhb3fr.jpg

Anyway, I got it to work now by moving my game directory. Time to start editing xD :lol: Thanks mate
Glad you got it working.

The application first constructs a default game path name "X:\Program Files\Supreme Ruler 2020", where 'X' is the drive letter of the drive that the browser application was started from.

The app then goes on to search the Windows Registry for the SR2020 installation info, which includes the true game installation path here:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\BattleGoat\Supreme Ruler 2020 GC

If this fails, then it continues to try to use the default path.

Don't know what went wrong with yours, unless you manually moved the SR2020 folder from its install location. Or if BG started to use the word "Gold" in their official game title, making it impossible to locate in the Registry.

I am very glad that your XP OS worked - we've had some problems with XP users not being able to start the browser.
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

angelolin
Corporal
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 06 2010
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT unit file Browser

#63 Post by angelolin » Jun 11 2010

hello catatonic!
Could you send the unit file brower to me(email:angelolin2004@hotmail.com)?I can't download it from www.mediafire.com
Thank y!

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT unit file Browser

#64 Post by catatonic » Jun 12 2010

angelolin wrote:hello catatonic!
Could you send the unit file brower to me(email:angelolin2004@hotmail.com)?I can't download it from http://www.mediafire.com
Thank y!
Please explain why you cannot access mediafire.com.
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

angelolin
Corporal
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 06 2010
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT unit file Browser

#65 Post by angelolin » Jun 12 2010

catatonic wrote: Please explain why you cannot access mediafire.com.

I cannot ping mediafire.com(Request timed out)

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT unit file Browser

#66 Post by catatonic » Jun 29 2010

angelolin wrote:
catatonic wrote: Please explain why you cannot access mediafire.com.

I cannot ping mediafire.com(Request timed out)
In response to similar complaints, Balthagor has kindly supplied the following mirror sites from which to download the utility:

Mirror sites;

http://home.cogeco.ca/~chrisahl/SR2020_ ... sion_9.zip
http://www.battlegoat.com/downloads/SR2 ... sion_9.zip
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

gyom
Corporal
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 17 2010
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#67 Post by gyom » Jun 29 2010

That's great !

Thanks a lot to both of you from all those who are unable to reach Mediafire !
At last we can enjoy your great utility.

Cheers

angelolin
Corporal
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 06 2010
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#68 Post by angelolin » Jun 29 2010

Thank s

User avatar
BigWolf
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 523
Joined: Jun 24 2008
Location: Empire of the Wolf

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#69 Post by BigWolf » Jul 03 2010

Not sure if you're aware Cat, but when viewing facilities, some columns are missing
One that I can point out is the column that decides how many units/spies a facilities can produce at any one time (Build Cap)

I think the col number is 115, but the calc/excel cell ref is DK

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#70 Post by catatonic » Jul 03 2010

I am aware that I deliberately left out columns that I did not believe that anyone would want to mod.

I am not familular with the one that you mentioned.
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

User avatar
BigWolf
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 523
Joined: Jun 24 2008
Location: Empire of the Wolf

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#71 Post by BigWolf » Jul 04 2010

That one is one that could be modded (infact Ruges uses that column to let missile fabs build 50 at a time)

User avatar
BigWolf
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 523
Joined: Jun 24 2008
Location: Empire of the Wolf

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#72 Post by BigWolf » Jul 12 2010

In the Browser, I'm finding the technical readout only being half visible
And stretching the window only expands the list, but not the technical readout

catatonic
General
Posts: 1113
Joined: Jun 03 2009
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#73 Post by catatonic » Jul 12 2010

BigWolf wrote:In the Browser, I'm finding the technical readout only being half visible.
Must be unique to your screen resolution. Mine is OK.
BigWolf wrote:And stretching the window only expands the list, but not the technical readout
As designed - the TR is a static bitmap, copied directly from a screen-dump of the game.
"War is merely the continuation of politics [diplomacy] by other means"
General Carl von Clausewitz - 1832

"Defense: De ting dat keeps de cows off de road."
Catatonic - 2012

User avatar
BigWolf
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 523
Joined: Jun 24 2008
Location: Empire of the Wolf

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#74 Post by BigWolf » Jul 12 2010

My Resolutions are:
1920x1200
1680x1050

So they are more than big enough not to get squashed

baltic1284
Lieutenant
Posts: 97
Joined: Aug 30 2009
Human: Yes

Re: DEFAULT.UNIT file Editor/Browser

#75 Post by baltic1284 » Jul 17 2010

i just download this and im wondering does anyone now how to use this program and the changes show up in the game

Post Reply

Return to “Scenarios, Mods and More - 2020”