N00b question ..

Place any military topics in this forum. How long can you run your country peacefully?

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor

Post Reply
Message
Author
Glen-livet
Sergeant
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 10 2010
Human: Yes

N00b question ..

#1 Post by Glen-livet » Jul 11 2010

I can't launch my nuclear missiles .

I have researched , manfactured and deployed all 4 tipes of nuclear missiles ( land, sub, sea, air ), gave permision to use nuclear weapons.. And that is where i stop because my units won't launch them... Can someone help me?

Hundane
General
Posts: 1858
Joined: Sep 11 2008

Re: N00b question ..

#2 Post by Hundane » Jul 11 2010

Are you within the missiles range to target ?

Hullu Hevonen
General
Posts: 3602
Joined: Dec 11 2008
Location: Turunmaa/Turunseutu, Suomi
Contact:

Re: N00b question ..

#3 Post by Hullu Hevonen » Jul 11 2010

There is a button somewhere that locks auto-fire of Nukes, I can't remember where though
Happy Linux user!
Links: List of Mods

User avatar
Ruges
General
Posts: 3408
Joined: Aug 22 2008
Location: Nearby, really I'll see you tonight when your sleeping
Contact:

Re: N00b question ..

#4 Post by Ruges » Jul 11 2010

There is a button somewhere that locks auto-fire of Nukes, I can't remember where though
Yea he said he gave them permision.

Its probly a range thing. Make sure the unit is in missle range of the target, then select the unit and then right click the target and select nuke.

tonystowe
Colonel
Posts: 462
Joined: Apr 10 2006
Location: Tennessee

Re: N00b question ..

#5 Post by tonystowe » Jul 11 2010

Isn't there a button or something that will not allow the launch of any nuclear weapons by your region? I want to say that its either in the options or in the Military Advisor's area. To date, I have never used nuclear weapons so I am really answering this from the hip.

I will say, that it would be an awesome aspect of this game if the AI were given ground rules for employing nuclear weapons.

Tony

Glen-livet
Sergeant
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 10 2010
Human: Yes

Re: N00b question ..

#6 Post by Glen-livet » Jul 11 2010

I used B-2 bombers , "standard" nuke ( N-bomb, Nuclear Bomb ) , and tried to drop it, pushed the "fire missile" button and than nothing happened, i don't think it is range problem,

User avatar
Ruges
General
Posts: 3408
Joined: Aug 22 2008
Location: Nearby, really I'll see you tonight when your sleeping
Contact:

Re: N00b question ..

#7 Post by Ruges » Jul 11 2010

Acualy I think it is a range issue. And I have had this issue with other short range missles. The N-Bomb Nuclear Bomb has a range of 1. Which means inorder to fire it, it must be in the same hex or one hex away from its target. And when it is in position the order must be given, and enough time must pass for the bomb to drop without the unit leaving the area. So its a pretty short window indeed. You would want to set the planes speed to very slow, and the game speed to very slow. And once the plane entered the correct hex pause the game, then issue the nuke order. then unpause the game.

Hundane
General
Posts: 1858
Joined: Sep 11 2008

Re: N00b question ..

#8 Post by Hundane » Jul 12 2010

Acualy I think it is a range issue.
I agree with Ruges. I also wouldnt recommend using those type of nukes, not only are they PITA to use but you risk losing your bombers as well. Even the non nuke free fall bombs are a PITA to use but at least you wont lose your aircraft when they go boom.

Madzcat
Lieutenant
Posts: 85
Joined: Aug 05 2008

Re: N00b question ..

#9 Post by Madzcat » Jul 12 2010

Yeah that's the problem and why I always avoid essentially no range bombs.

Just don't be surprised when you do get your nukes to shoot that they aren't as effective as you had hoped.

Post Reply

Return to “Military - 2020”