BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Feb 22 2018

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What do unit stats do?
PostPosted: Jun 19 2008 
Offline
Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Jun 12 2008
Posts: 390
Location: CA, USA
This is more of a developer question for future modding usage, but it does have a large connection to the military aspect of the game.

I understand the basics of soft attack and hard attack and surface defence and indirect defense, etc etc etc...

The question is what exactly do these values do. In hearts of Iron (which numerous Paradox Interactive fans will have played with), each soft attack basically gave a shot at the enemy, and each point of defense had a 75% chance of canceling out the shot damage. I'm just wondering how it works in SR2020 (and SR2010).


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 28 2012 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 581
Human: Yes
good question!


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 28 2012 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20582
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
It's been answered before actually. They are two different attack types and defense types. The type used will be based on the target. If you shoot at a "soft target" your unit's soft attack value is compared to their ground defense through a very complex formula. If the target is hard, then hard attack is used.

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 17 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 581
Human: Yes
Another stat issue is that the fuel capacity value written in the default.unit file is not always the same seen in the game pop up tabs. Why?


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 17 2015 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20582
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
IIRC, fuel in the file is "per piece" while fuel in game is for a "Battalion/Squadron/Boat".

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 18 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 581
Human: Yes
I know that and I meant that:

Fuel capacity x pieces =/= the written value


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 20 2015 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20582
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
For which unit? Be specific.

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 21 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 581
Human: Yes
For examble:

SA-10 Grumble

personell: 20x6=120 but in game 228
weight: 20x21.4=428 but in game 813
fuel: 20x8.33=166.6 but in game 317
ammo: 20x15=300 but in game 570
cost: 20x2.8=56 but in game 106.4


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 21 2015 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20582
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
It's not 20 in game;

Image

personell: 40x6= 240
weight: 40x21.4= 856
fuel: 40x8.33= 333
ammo: 40x15= 600
cost: 40x2.8=112

There is a default battalion size per class that overrides the battalion size specified in the equipment file. Units placed by orbats use the equipment file unit size.

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 21 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 581
Human: Yes
Balthagor wrote:
There is a default battalion size per class that overrides the battalion size specified in the equipment file.


can you give this information?
or should we read it from in game screen?


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 22 2015 
Offline
Board Admin

Joined: Sep 29 2008
Posts: 2780
Human: Yes
Mr. Latour;


This is neither here nor there, but if that is a Tech Card from 2020, it looks nothing like mine as far as the layout is concerned. Do you have a special developer version?

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 22 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 581
Human: Yes
Surely it is not from 2020. But finally I get the explanation for the mysterious parametre "default strength".


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 22 2015 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20582
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Oops, sorry for teasing, that's from SRU. Was faster to bring it up in the new game :)

:discreet product placement 8) :

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 23 2015 
Offline
Board Admin

Joined: Sep 29 2008
Posts: 2780
Human: Yes
Understood. :)

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited