What do unit stats do?

Place any military topics in this forum. How long can you run your country peacefully?

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
sirveri
Colonel
Posts: 390
Joined: Jun 12 2008
Location: CA, USA

What do unit stats do?

#1 Post by sirveri » Jun 19 2008

This is more of a developer question for future modding usage, but it does have a large connection to the military aspect of the game.

I understand the basics of soft attack and hard attack and surface defence and indirect defense, etc etc etc...

The question is what exactly do these values do. In hearts of Iron (which numerous Paradox Interactive fans will have played with), each soft attack basically gave a shot at the enemy, and each point of defense had a 75% chance of canceling out the shot damage. I'm just wondering how it works in SR2020 (and SR2010).

georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 589
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: What do unit stats do?

#2 Post by georgios » Nov 28 2012

good question!

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: What do unit stats do?

#3 Post by Balthagor » Nov 28 2012

It's been answered before actually. They are two different attack types and defense types. The type used will be based on the target. If you shoot at a "soft target" your unit's soft attack value is compared to their ground defense through a very complex formula. If the target is hard, then hard attack is used.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 589
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: What do unit stats do?

#4 Post by georgios » Nov 17 2015

Another stat issue is that the fuel capacity value written in the default.unit file is not always the same seen in the game pop up tabs. Why?

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: What do unit stats do?

#5 Post by Balthagor » Nov 17 2015

IIRC, fuel in the file is "per piece" while fuel in game is for a "Battalion/Squadron/Boat".
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 589
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: What do unit stats do?

#6 Post by georgios » Nov 18 2015

I know that and I meant that:

Fuel capacity x pieces =/= the written value

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: What do unit stats do?

#7 Post by Balthagor » Nov 20 2015

For which unit? Be specific.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 589
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: What do unit stats do?

#8 Post by georgios » Nov 21 2015

For examble:

SA-10 Grumble

personell: 20x6=120 but in game 228
weight: 20x21.4=428 but in game 813
fuel: 20x8.33=166.6 but in game 317
ammo: 20x15=300 but in game 570
cost: 20x2.8=56 but in game 106.4

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: What do unit stats do?

#9 Post by Balthagor » Nov 21 2015

It's not 20 in game;

Image

personell: 40x6= 240
weight: 40x21.4= 856
fuel: 40x8.33= 333
ammo: 40x15= 600
cost: 40x2.8=112

There is a default battalion size per class that overrides the battalion size specified in the equipment file. Units placed by orbats use the equipment file unit size.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 589
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: What do unit stats do?

#10 Post by georgios » Nov 21 2015

Balthagor wrote:There is a default battalion size per class that overrides the battalion size specified in the equipment file.
can you give this information?
or should we read it from in game screen?

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2792
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: What do unit stats do?

#11 Post by GIJoe597 » Nov 22 2015

Mr. Latour;


This is neither here nor there, but if that is a Tech Card from 2020, it looks nothing like mine as far as the layout is concerned. Do you have a special developer version?
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG

georgios
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 589
Joined: Aug 13 2012
Human: Yes

Re: What do unit stats do?

#12 Post by georgios » Nov 22 2015

Surely it is not from 2020. But finally I get the explanation for the mysterious parametre "default strength".

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20660
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: What do unit stats do?

#13 Post by Balthagor » Nov 22 2015

Oops, sorry for teasing, that's from SRU. Was faster to bring it up in the new game :)

:discreet product placement 8) :
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2792
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: What do unit stats do?

#14 Post by GIJoe597 » Nov 23 2015

Understood. :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG

Post Reply

Return to “Military - 2020”