BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Jun 23 2017

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Jul 24 2011 
Offline
Captain

Joined: Aug 17 2008
Posts: 110
At times, it is useful to really calculate production costs for a determined commodity.

My question is as follows:

Take the example of METAL ORE

Production Cost shown in the Production Tab is 450$
Market Price is: 635$

Now. Any person would feel tempted to go and produce locally since the market price is over the production cost. However, according to what I've read, that production cost doesn't include row material costs. It's only like a fixed production cost per unit.

Once we try to calculate the real production cost, accounting for the row material prices, we have it as follows:

According to the DEFAULT.WMD file, METAL ORE requires 1 Unit of Power and 2 Unit of Oil. (I guess that's for a regular mine, don't know anything on Composite Ore)

so, calculating each usage of them at the current lowest price, we have 671$ that we have to add to the Production Fixed Costs.

Does that mean the real price to produce Metal Ore is of 1121$ ??? (671+450)

That's my question.

Is the production cost shown at the Production Tab a Price without Row Material??
Where can I read a detailed consumption of commodities to produce one unit of another commodity (sort of like 1 Ore and 1 Ind Goods for Cons Goods [bad example])??


Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Jul 24 2011 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.
User avatar

Joined: Jun 24 2008
Posts: 523
Location: Empire of the Wolf
I'm quite certain that production costs do include the cost of it's raw materials, infact I've never heard of anything saying they, may I ask where you read that?


Top
   
PostPosted: Jul 24 2011 
Offline
Captain

Joined: Aug 17 2008
Posts: 110
Just searching for the source where I read it. Anyways, a confirmation on the matter would set this topic closed. Anyone who can actually confirm it would be great.

Thank you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Jul 25 2011 
Offline
General

Joined: Sep 29 2008
Posts: 2489
Human: Yes
I cannot confirm or deny, what I can do is retype what I have seen before. Cost includes raw materials. It also includes the salary of the workers.

Now that I think about it I am certain I saw a thread once explaining this. The thread also went into how much of each item type makes up the end product. Example:

1 ton of Industrial Goods requires;
Coal
Elec
Petro
Ore

Each item was factored into the listed price. The key thing I seem to remember was it was not a 1 for 1 use. It might take 2 tons of coal or 1/2 ton of Ore.


*I am not going searching for the thread, but I have the original game manual in front of me, on page 15 under GDP/c, it points out that as your labor costs rise it may be better to purchase items from world market, rather than make them yourselves.

That indicates to me worker salaries are also incuded in the production cost.

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/GIJoe597


Older/retired gamers, who do not tolerate foolishness.

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/USARG


Top
   
PostPosted: Dec 12 2012 
Offline
Warrant Officer

Joined: Dec 12 2012
Posts: 42
Human: Yes
It calculate cost of raw materials (not sure the production price of them or market price; it should be both in case do u import or produce raw materials). However it doesn't calculate opportunistic expenses (for example is it better to produce 1 t of consumer good and sell it or is it better to sell 15 MW of electric power used to produce consumer good).

By the way I am suggesting to developers that in future versions of supreme rulers create more expanded and accuracy (accounting type) of economic reports. That should include exactly how much raw material is needed, how much it cost, how much additional tax is getting from industry; and basically how praises are build up. Right now is rather difficulty to optimize, but maybe that is a game.


Top
   
PostPosted: Nov 17 2015 
Offline
Brigadier Gen.

Joined: Aug 13 2012
Posts: 552
Human: Yes
The initial example is wrong.

Raw materials do not require other raw materials. They only require the production costs.

Industrial goods (and artificial raw materials) cost is the base cost plus the cost of the needed raw materials.


Top
   
PostPosted: Feb 06 2017 
Offline
Sergeant

Joined: Sep 14 2010
Posts: 24
Human: Yes
Ore from an Ore Mine costs no resources to produce. However, Ore from a Composite Ore Plant DOES cost resources to produce.

It seems clear to me that the cost of resources consumed in the production of other resources IS reflected in the Production Price of all the resources. If you have any doubt of this, start up a country that has a high proportion of Petrol power plants, run them for a few days, and then scrap them all in one day. The next day, your Production Price for Electric Power will drop dramatically. I would imagine that facility maintenance costs are also included in this number, though of that, I am less certain.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited