Some thoughts

Discuss Supreme Ruler 2020 here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

sblevins
Sergeant

Some thoughts

Post by sblevins »

I picked up the game almost immediately after it came out after reading about it on wargamer.. I think it's the best tactical war game that I've ever played. The only thing I can compare to it is Hearts of Iron, another great game. But I prefer this one, as I think it has more potential in terms of gameplay and depth.

With that said, I started playing it again recently, and I've noticed some things that have bugged me. So here are some humble opinions on things that would improve the experience.

Transport via ships. And maybe for all forms of transportation but I really only bother with ship transport. I have a couple of gripes here. It seems like it is fairly cumbersome to get troops from one island to the next.

What I normally have to do is get all my troops in a line stretching from the port. Then I take a transport ship out of reserve, and immediately select a stack,(sometimes full, sometimes not depending on the weight and cargo capacity), giving it an advanced order click "load into" scroll down to find the transport ship, and then execute the order. I unpause an wait for it to load. I then move the ship away, pause, and move my whole line forward a hex, and do this again.

This is all VERY tedious. The first problem is that the option to load troops takes a ton of clicks to do... and usually I have my ground trooops, anti-air, artillery, tanks, supply.. etc... With any sort of massive invasion, this can take literally an hour of real game time just loading things onto boats. This seems unseemingly complicated. Ideally, I'd like to just select say all my infantry, click on a port, and tell them to load into any avaialable transport ships in reserve.