Update 7 Announcement

Discuss Supreme Ruler 2020 here.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19931
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#91 Post by Balthagor » Aug 09 2010

oops, uploaded the wrong file. I'll work on getting the right file posted.

And yes, that one is supposed to be blank.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

AEWHistory
Lieutenant
Posts: 65
Joined: Feb 18 2009
Location: Trenton, NJ

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#92 Post by AEWHistory » Aug 10 2010

It has been awhile since I'd played, but when I added the new patch it felt like the game slowed down. I think this is because there are more wars across the globe, but it seems as thought a day takes an age! Am I noticing something or is it me?

Thanks,
Aaron
--------
Professor of Military History with emphasis on deterrence and the Napoleonic period.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19931
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#93 Post by Balthagor » Aug 10 2010

Already discussed earlier in this thread, page 3;
Balthagor wrote:Performance was very likely affected, for the same reason that Ruges mod is more performance intensive; the AI is much more active and the units are much more active.

It all depends how many regions go to war or are preparing for war.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

AEWHistory
Lieutenant
Posts: 65
Joined: Feb 18 2009
Location: Trenton, NJ

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#94 Post by AEWHistory » Aug 10 2010

Balthagor wrote:Already discussed earlier in this thread, page 3;
Balthagor wrote:Performance was very likely affected, for the same reason that Ruges mod is more performance intensive; the AI is much more active and the units are much more active.

It all depends how many regions go to war or are preparing for war.
Damn, I think I skipped right over that. My apologies and thanks for pointing me in the right direction. In any event, this confirms my initial feeling that the performance hit was likely due to increased activity.

As an aside, I know that there have been suggestions for new versions and new updates ad nauseum, so I've generally tried to limit myself from adding to this clutter. If I were to make a request, it would be looking for performance improvements. While I'm aware that BG feel that the game is as efficient as it can be--and perhaps I am simply ignorant--but I find it very difficult to accept this assessment. While I am not a programmer myself, my father is since the early 70s/late 60s. I bring this up because of his constant complaint of how inefficient modern programming is. One story he'd regaled me with is a mainframe he once had to program that had a total of 8k.... that's a flippen mainframe!! So he squeezed every little bit of performance he could out of the available machine. Anyway, he's retired now, so he has more time to bitch... :roll: but that isn't my point... or is it?

-Aaron
--------
Professor of Military History with emphasis on deterrence and the Napoleonic period.

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#95 Post by tkobo » Aug 13 2010

Anyone using the "move at common speed" function ?Doesnt seem to work for me.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19931
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#96 Post by Balthagor » Aug 13 2010

Requires formation move set on.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#97 Post by tkobo » Aug 13 2010

mine is.
Explain in step by step detail how to use it.Ive tried pushing the ctrl key at a few points, and nothing.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19931
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#98 Post by Balthagor » Aug 14 2010

You've read this?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#99 Post by tkobo » Aug 14 2010

Thats what i needed.I had read it, but forgot the specifics.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

buzz57
Corporal
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 23 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#100 Post by buzz57 » Aug 23 2010

Hi,

How ti install the hotfix after the pack 7 .

Do i have to put the graphic folder instead of the one already installed? or to take only the last one (graphic --> mesh --> XXXXX) ?
thanks for your help .
Soory i m french.


bjr,
pour installer l hotfix apres le pack 7, dois je remplacer le dossier graphic tout entier dans le repertoire du jeu ? ou uniquement le dernier fichier de ce hotfix ?

merci de votre aide

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19931
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#101 Post by Balthagor » Aug 23 2010

bonjour,

Non, ajoute les fiches au dossier Graphics en remplacent la ou requis.
-----------
Just unzip it into the Graphics folder replacing files as needed.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

buzz57
Corporal
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 23 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#102 Post by buzz57 » Aug 24 2010

Merci pour votre réponse. EN fait je l avais déja fait.
Et d ailleurs windows propose de fusionner le fichier, donc le hotfix complete le fichier du repertoire de jeu.

Buzz57

User avatar
Justice
Lieutenant
Posts: 63
Joined: Aug 21 2010
Human: Yes

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#103 Post by Justice » Aug 27 2010

Attempted to download this about a half-dozen times. Seems to time out each attempt. Happening to anyone else?
~Justice

"All men die, few men truly live."

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2835
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#104 Post by GIJoe597 » Aug 28 2010

I have not tried recently. But had no issues back when I did dl it.


EDIT: I tried just now Sat, Aug 28 at 1230AM local.. I also timed out.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 19931
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Update 7 Announcement

#105 Post by Balthagor » Aug 28 2010

while we look into this, try this mirror;

http://www.patches-scrolls.de/supreme_r ... crisis.php
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion - 2020”