BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Oct 20 2017

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Prerequistes Pending?
PostPosted: Mar 18 2008 
Offline
Sergeant

Joined: Mar 17 2008
Posts: 12
My research minister ordered several techs that can't be researched becuase the prerequistes have yet to be researched. Does this result in the prerequisites being researched, or should I cancel the techs?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 18 2008 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
If you research a tech that has prerequisites that have not yet been researched, the system is supposed to auto add those techs to your research que,making you complete research on them beofre starting the tech you wanted.

BUt that siad, i did come accross one instance that i never figured out, in which this did not seem to work as intended.

So, its supposed to do so(and has in almost every case),but i have seen what appeared to be an anomoly in which in one case it didnt.

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 18 2008 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: May 23 2006
Posts: 2973
Location: Texas
Tkobo's anomaly aside, the prerequisite techs should be added into the queue and researched in order automatically.

One word of advice, your minister will add more and more research projects until all the available slots are filled. While this is alright if you are playing a long campaign and there is nothing you desire finished quickly, you might have to pause several (if not most) of these projects to ever actually see anything finished. There are various strategies for research. I myself keep one active project at a time because there is usually something I want done right away.

-Light

_________________
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery.” -Winston Churchill


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 18 2008 
Offline
Sergeant

Joined: Mar 17 2008
Posts: 12
So more research slots is not necessarily better? Under what circumstances should you build another research facility?
I've also found myself trading for techs and units. Expensive, but you can tech broker.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 19 2008 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
As a lot of things in the game , its complicated.

Things that matter are:

1)length of game
2)techs desired to be achieved
3)economic strength of region
4)population of region
etc....

All of these combine to make it a case by case situation.

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited