Poll on time and tech research

Discuss Research and Social Aspects of the game here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, BattleGoat, Moderators

What time periods do you consider good for completion of the tech tree ?

1) Never. The tech tree should be something that never ends
7
35%
2) large regions should be able to complete the tech tree in a campaign or 15 years
7
35%
3) large regions shoudl be able to complete the tech tree in 10 years, small regions 15years
4
20%
4) large regions should be able to complete the tech tree in 5 years, small regions 10 years
2
10%
5) large regions should be able to complete the tech tree in 2 years or a single scenario's proscribed length,small regions 5 years
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 20

Message
Author
User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Poll on time and tech research

#1 Post by tkobo » Mar 20 2006

I dont normally do polls, as they dont normally get a high response rate on thsi forum, which usaully means a dev will say "we're watching,but not enough feedback from this pool to make changes" :P

But im not asking for changes in this one, im just curious want people think.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

red
General
Posts: 1271
Joined: Feb 14 2004
Location: New York

#2 Post by red » Mar 20 2006

If the research system modelled the real-world fairly well, then I'd take whatever lengths of time that means. Whatever's realistic...

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#3 Post by bergsjaeger » Mar 20 2006

i have been able to finish the tech tree in 7 years with big regions and up to 13 years with smaller ones. I find myself actually using the finalexam cheat sometimes just to get more techs to research. I found a pattern that works. Its costly I admit but when the tech tree is done and i cancel all funding to research I end up with a major suplus and it helps that the GDP will drop with research funding cut which will let me earn even more money.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#4 Post by tkobo » Mar 20 2006

That sounds pretty much like what i do (except i dont use any cheats). I build up a very large treasury, than slam it all into research til the treasury is almost gone,repeat as needed, til ive completed the tech tree.

Than i dont need research anymore, so all that money being spent goes back to building up a huge treasury.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Seydlitz
Major
Posts: 195
Joined: Oct 09 2005
Location: UConn
Contact:

#5 Post by Seydlitz » Mar 20 2006

The game starts in 2010, and the tech levels go to 2025. I say 15 years seems reasonable.

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#6 Post by bergsjaeger » Mar 21 2006

Well out did myself today. Was able to finish the tech tree in 6 and a half years. And I thought researching was hard with the 4th patch. helped alot that I wasn't in any wars for the 1st 2 scenarios. Was tough finishing the tech tree in the 3rd scenario however. Had wars with 4 regions at one time. :lol: High tech weapons always make a war seem too easy. And course 2 scenarios where u can build up without anything bothering u too.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20714
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#7 Post by Balthagor » Apr 27 2006

Have a question that seems to go with this -

What is the earliest game date anyone has reached tech 125 and completed research of ALL the technologies (not necessarily units) without using a cheat? What scenario were you playing when you finished the tech tree?

I'm assuming that ppl are only managing to complete the tech tree on the largest scenarios unless they spend 20+ years in a smaller scenario...
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

BigStone
General
Posts: 1444
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#8 Post by BigStone » Apr 27 2006

I've played a couple of times very weak campaigns.
(Mongolia and Congo..)
I've stayed there for apx 30 years (before progressing to the World
map) and never ever finished the tech tree...

:oops:
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#9 Post by bergsjaeger » Apr 27 2006

The earliest I have completed the tree was in US map as the Nationalist and it was after I had taken over most of the North East. 6 years 4 months. Haven't had that fast of research with any other region yet. But it was tough getting that fast of research. Very tough I worked on it for several days. Luckily I had high enough MAR to switch to a dictator because I lost an election due to ppl hated me for I guess unjustice taxes. This was without cheats involved. Been testing research without them but I'm reconsidering using them if I ever want to get the tree done by 5 years.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

User avatar
Legend
General
Posts: 2616
Joined: Sep 08 2002
Human: Yes
Location: Ancaster, Ontario - BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

#10 Post by Legend » Apr 28 2006

bergsjaeger: what tech level did you achieve in 6 years?

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#11 Post by bergsjaeger » Apr 28 2006

oh. well I guess 125 in 6 years 4 months. With around 15B in research spending 10% of that went to tech level.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11943
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#12 Post by tkobo » Apr 29 2006

Did you achieve the techs also ? Or just the tech level ?
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Leafgreen
Lt. Colonel
Posts: 207
Joined: Apr 06 2006
Location: Emerald City
Contact:

#13 Post by Leafgreen » Apr 30 2006

I like an massive tech tree, but there's no point if you don't have any new units to research. Yes, you can do civil improvements and such, but then you have to wonder if they even work. :-(
"That's O'neill, with two l's"
(Holds up 3 fingers)

BigStone
General
Posts: 1444
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#14 Post by BigStone » Apr 30 2006

Most of the -civil- techs do work.
There are however some issues about the research efficiency improvements....
And it is for me still not clear if they work or not.... :-?
But thats probably me... :oops:
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR

User avatar
bergsjaeger
General
Posts: 2246
Joined: Apr 22 2005
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA

#15 Post by bergsjaeger » Apr 30 2006

techs and tech year. after u can put alot of money into research spending u can actually put every tech in and let them be researched when their slot moves up. that's what i do.
In war destroy everything even the livestock.

Post Reply

Return to “Department of Interior - Research and Social Services”