BGForums

BattleGoat Studios
It is currently Dec 12 2017

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

What time periods do you consider good for completion of the tech tree ?
1) Never. The tech tree should be something that never ends 35%  35%  [ 7 ]
2) large regions should be able to complete the tech tree in a campaign or 15 years 35%  35%  [ 7 ]
3) large regions shoudl be able to complete the tech tree in 10 years, small regions 15years 20%  20%  [ 4 ]
4) large regions should be able to complete the tech tree in 5 years, small regions 10 years 10%  10%  [ 2 ]
5) large regions should be able to complete the tech tree in 2 years or a single scenario's proscribed length,small regions 5 years 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes: 20
Author Message
PostPosted: Mar 20 2006 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
I dont normally do polls, as they dont normally get a high response rate on thsi forum, which usaully means a dev will say "we're watching,but not enough feedback from this pool to make changes" :P

But im not asking for changes in this one, im just curious want people think.

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 20 2006 
Offline
General

Joined: Feb 14 2004
Posts: 1271
Location: New York
If the research system modelled the real-world fairly well, then I'd take whatever lengths of time that means. Whatever's realistic...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 20 2006 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: Apr 22 2005
Posts: 2246
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA
i have been able to finish the tech tree in 7 years with big regions and up to 13 years with smaller ones. I find myself actually using the finalexam cheat sometimes just to get more techs to research. I found a pattern that works. Its costly I admit but when the tech tree is done and i cancel all funding to research I end up with a major suplus and it helps that the GDP will drop with research funding cut which will let me earn even more money.

_________________
In war destroy everything even the livestock.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 20 2006 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
That sounds pretty much like what i do (except i dont use any cheats). I build up a very large treasury, than slam it all into research til the treasury is almost gone,repeat as needed, til ive completed the tech tree.

Than i dont need research anymore, so all that money being spent goes back to building up a huge treasury.

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 20 2006 
Offline
Major
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09 2005
Posts: 195
Location: UConn
The game starts in 2010, and the tech levels go to 2025. I say 15 years seems reasonable.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 21 2006 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: Apr 22 2005
Posts: 2246
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA
Well out did myself today. Was able to finish the tech tree in 6 and a half years. And I thought researching was hard with the 4th patch. helped alot that I wasn't in any wars for the 1st 2 scenarios. Was tough finishing the tech tree in the 3rd scenario however. Had wars with 4 regions at one time. :lol: High tech weapons always make a war seem too easy. And course 2 scenarios where u can build up without anything bothering u too.

_________________
In war destroy everything even the livestock.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 27 2006 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 20455
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Have a question that seems to go with this -

What is the earliest game date anyone has reached tech 125 and completed research of ALL the technologies (not necessarily units) without using a cheat? What scenario were you playing when you finished the tech tree?

I'm assuming that ppl are only managing to complete the tech tree on the largest scenarios unless they spend 20+ years in a smaller scenario...

_________________
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 27 2006 
Offline
General

Joined: Dec 22 2004
Posts: 1444
Location: Holland
I've played a couple of times very weak campaigns.
(Mongolia and Congo..)
I've stayed there for apx 30 years (before progressing to the World
map) and never ever finished the tech tree...

:oops:

_________________
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]
I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 27 2006 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: Apr 22 2005
Posts: 2246
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA
The earliest I have completed the tree was in US map as the Nationalist and it was after I had taken over most of the North East. 6 years 4 months. Haven't had that fast of research with any other region yet. But it was tough getting that fast of research. Very tough I worked on it for several days. Luckily I had high enough MAR to switch to a dictator because I lost an election due to ppl hated me for I guess unjustice taxes. This was without cheats involved. Been testing research without them but I'm reconsidering using them if I ever want to get the tree done by 5 years.

_________________
In war destroy everything even the livestock.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 28 2006 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: Sep 08 2002
Posts: 2616
Human: Yes
Location: Ancaster, Ontario - BattleGoat Studios
bergsjaeger: what tech level did you achieve in 6 years?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 28 2006 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: Apr 22 2005
Posts: 2246
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA
oh. well I guess 125 in 6 years 4 months. With around 15B in research spending 10% of that went to tech level.

_________________
In war destroy everything even the livestock.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 29 2006 
Offline
Supreme Ruler
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04 2002
Posts: 11943
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !
Did you achieve the techs also ? Or just the tech level ?

_________________
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 30 2006 
Offline
Lt. Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Apr 06 2006
Posts: 207
Location: Emerald City
I like an massive tech tree, but there's no point if you don't have any new units to research. Yes, you can do civil improvements and such, but then you have to wonder if they even work. :-(

_________________
"That's O'neill, with two l's"
(Holds up 3 fingers)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 30 2006 
Offline
General

Joined: Dec 22 2004
Posts: 1444
Location: Holland
Most of the -civil- techs do work.
There are however some issues about the research efficiency improvements....
And it is for me still not clear if they work or not.... :-?
But thats probably me... :oops:

_________________
NO MORE NOISY FISH [unless they are green & furiously]

I HAVE STILL A FISH IN MY EAR


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Apr 30 2006 
Offline
General
User avatar

Joined: Apr 22 2005
Posts: 2246
Location: Woods Bend, Alabama,USA
techs and tech year. after u can put alot of money into research spending u can actually put every tech in and let them be researched when their slot moves up. that's what i do.

_________________
In war destroy everything even the livestock.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited