Lack of realism?

Discuss Research and Social Aspects of the game here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, BattleGoat, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
Chairmaker
Corporal
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 05 2005

Lack of realism?

#1 Post by Chairmaker » Jun 08 2005

I noticed that for some countries the technologies they start with aren't really what they are supposed to have in reality. Usually those are minor issues, but somtimes it can be very irritating.

Israel, for example, had satellite-launching capabilites since about 1988, and launched it's first recon sattelite in 1995. Israel's recon Satellites are considered to be among the most advanced in the world, and a new launch will probably take place in several years time (the latest launch of "Ofec 5" failed) .

Considering this - I find its weird that in SR2010 I need to spend 10 years researching recon satellites for Israel, even though more than 15 years passed sinse Israel developed (and launched) its first recon sat in reality (and I don't think there were any fictional events which might have caused Israel to lose this technology)

As I said before - Its a minor issue and I guess there are plenty of those for many countries, but I still would like to know if there is some way to modify the starting conditions of regions so that It will be more realistic.

3iff
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 643
Joined: Jun 27 2002
Location: Birmingham, England

#2 Post by 3iff » Jun 08 2005

One point is that in 2010, the world has fragmented, so countries are sometimes fragments of original countries and some techs and abilities have been lost. The story/blurb is out there somewhere explaining the background.

That's why many countries have units (like tanks/planes) but lack the immediate ability to build more of their own.

User avatar
Legend
General
Posts: 2616
Joined: Sep 08 2002
Human: Yes
Location: Ancaster, Ontario - BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

Re: Lack of realism?

#3 Post by Legend » Jun 08 2005

This is a good suggestion. Chris designed the MidEast scenario so we'll have to let him know so he can adjust it in an update, if that is what he wants to do. Over time there will be minor tweaks to maps that add a bit more accuracy to the maps.

Are there other items people see that could be changed?
Chairmaker wrote:I noticed that for some countries the technologies they start with aren't really what they are supposed to have in reality. Usually those are minor issues, but somtimes it can be very irritating.

Israel, for example, had satellite-launching capabilites since about 1988, and launched it's first recon sattelite in 1995. Israel's recon Satellites are considered to be among the most advanced in the world, and a new launch will probably take place in several years time (the latest launch of "Ofec 5" failed) .

Considering this - I find its weird that in SR2010 I need to spend 10 years researching recon satellites for Israel, even though more than 15 years passed sinse Israel developed (and launched) its first recon sat in reality (and I don't think there were any fictional events which might have caused Israel to lose this technology)

As I said before - Its a minor issue and I guess there are plenty of those for many countries, but I still would like to know if there is some way to modify the starting conditions of regions so that It will be more realistic.

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#4 Post by Balthagor » Jun 08 2005

These type of things are certianly something we could use help with! Research what techs go to what country took FOREVER! And clearly we missed some :-(

So yes, please report what's missing so we can make updates.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Cyberpunk666
Corporal
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 20 2006

#5 Post by Cyberpunk666 » Jan 20 2006

Argentina needs the tech for nuclear reactors, although we sold a nuclear reactor to Australia in 2003-4. And the country have 2 nuclear plants.
so i think that one, for now.
thanks for this great game, althoug i cant get the economy working!
=P

The_Blind_One
Colonel
Posts: 388
Joined: May 28 2005

#6 Post by The_Blind_One » Jan 20 2006

It appears alot of regions wich didn't fragment that do have nuclear powerplants lack any ability to produce nuclear facilities...most of them haven't even started research on it :roll:

Kinda annoying indeed, specially if ur playing a smaller region already it's extremely hard to get techs :-(

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#7 Post by Balthagor » Jan 20 2006

Be sure to let us know when you find techs not assigned that should be, it is often hard to figure out who should have what. I had no idea that Argentina was making nuclear reactors (many countries had their reactors built for them).

Also, if you have a web link to back it up, that would be best.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Eric Larsen
Colonel
Posts: 344
Joined: Oct 25 2005
Location: Salinas, CA

Some old techs lost?

#8 Post by Eric Larsen » Jan 24 2006

What's really annoying is some of the older techs, like freefall bombs, aren't already researched. It's really kind of lame that not one region remembers how to make freefall bombs when they've got better ones already researched to start the game. Another annoying thing is in the World scenario the US can build light infantry and engineers yet still has them as available research projects. I even saw where I could sell them as research items yet I still would have to research them myself.

Please make some of those older techs like freefall bombs, light infantry and engineers already researched to start the scenarios. It would help players and the AI if they are already researched so we and the AI don't have to waste research effort reinventing the wheel already made. Besides there's so much to research that we just don't need to rehash boring stuff like freefall bombs.
Thanks,

Eric Larsen

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20802
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#9 Post by Balthagor » Jan 24 2006

We can't make the freefall bombs pre-researched because they where added in an update. If we did, the next update would contain EVERY scenario for the game and that is simply too large. I see your point but I think it takes 2-3 days to research this missile, hardly seems worth it.

As for the light infantry/engineers, there are two versions in the game with the same name. There is the NATO/US version (uses HMMWV pic) and the Russian/Chinese version (uses BRDM pic). The US only builds the US version and it is preresearched.

Any others?
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

Post Reply

Return to “Department of Interior - Research and Social Services”