diplomacy trade bug

Find support, discuss issues, report in game bugs found here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Locked
foo
Sergeant
Posts: 21
Joined: Aug 22 2005

diplomacy trade bug

Post by foo »

I found a bug in the diplomacy system.

I'm playing South Africa (still) and have several on-going trades with foreign countries. I offer them a bit of timber, and they repay in $ (actually rands, but who's counting?). I realized that the ongoing trade might be affecting their ability to gain reason to declare war on me (I'm a peace loving dictator, really!) So I tried to cancel the open ended trade.

I double clicked the items listed under "Currently providing to" and Currently receiving from" lists, (the only items listed were timber to, and $ from, so offered to cancel both sides of the agreement). What showed up in the negotiation area was the amount of timber being traded, BUT ON BOTH SIDES! The diplomacy window dutifully copied down the daily amount timber I was providing but instead of also copying down the daily $'s traded, it listed "canceling daily timber traded". The Currently receiving from" list still showed the "daily $'s traded" unchanged.

After the deal was consumated, the "daily timber traded disappeared from the "Currently providing to" list, but the "Currently receiving from" list continued to show "daily $'s". When I try to cancel that treaty (offering a gazillion $ for the small daily amount", the item shown on the AI side is again, the amount of daily amount of timber, instead of the daily $ amount listed above. After the deal is offered anyway, I get a notiece of a diplomatic exchange failure, with the email contents saying the region could not fulfill a resource required in the treaty. duh... of course it can't offer the timber. It's running out of timber. But that's not what I'm trying to get rid of. I want it to stop giving me daily $. ARGH!

BTW, this is with update 3. I'm trying to piss off Congo so they'll raise their casus belli and declare war, but it's not working (I suspect because they're happily giving me daily $'s for nothing and their trades are making them pleased as punch with South Africa. Back with update 2, I could modulate neighboring region's belli by adjusting my build cap. Now, no matter what I do (or because I've got ongoing daily timber trades with everyone) everyone just likes me more and more. I've got my entire army sitting on Congo's border, and they're throwing rose petals at me. sigh.... What's the fix???
Great game, thanks!
User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

Post by tkobo »

Is this because as of update 3 the AI will no longer accept any long term incremental agreements ?

IE- The AI will no longer accept a deal that works like $1 a day for 9 years.

SO, the AI see the diplomatic offer,sees that its a long term incremental offer, and doesnt take into effect the offer is a cancelation of an existing offer,but only sees that its a long term incremental offer and rejects it?

Kinda humorous if so. :lol:
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Post by Balthagor »

I'll want to do a bit of testing on this before I reply, just to be sure it's all fresh in my mind. Please bump if I start to forget to come back to this.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20504
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Post by Balthagor »

Sorry it took so long (told you it might need a bump ;) )

- There is a known bug that you cannot cancel money trades. This is addressed in anther thread
- You have identified a new bug that when attempting to cancel the wrong data is shown in the request window. We've made note of this. Thanks.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
Locked

Return to “SR2010 Support”