Getting VTOL onto a carrier

Talk and Learn about the military aspects of the game.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
pind4070
Corporal
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 11 2007

Getting VTOL onto a carrier

#1 Post by pind4070 » Nov 11 2007

New to the game. I have noticed some of my short deck carriers are lacking planes. I have some harrier planes located in my airbases but I cannot figure out how to get some of them onto the carrier. Any help would be greatly appreciated

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#2 Post by tkobo » Nov 11 2007

I dont use vtol,but the actions should be the same, simply fly them out and land them on the carrier.

Be sure to check range of aircraft,so they can actually make the trip AND capacity of carrier so you dont overload it.

To be extra safe, move the carrier as close as possible :wink:
AND make sure none of the infamous heli pilots are flying your planes :lol:
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

User avatar
Lightbringer
General
Posts: 2973
Joined: May 23 2006
Location: Texas

#3 Post by Lightbringer » Nov 11 2007

I usually use an "escort" order to begin with. Make sure you aren't sending more planes than can "base" on the carrier. Once the planes settle down on the carrier you can attack stuff and they will (usually) return there as their last "base". Pilots of all sorts in this game become easily confused as to where to land their aircraft, so check on them after a combat mission.
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery.” -Winston Churchill

Red Dawn
Captain
Posts: 101
Joined: Sep 22 2007

#4 Post by Red Dawn » Feb 01 2008

Hey on the matter of issuing an escort command to say a fighter to escort bombers on their bombing run. How on earth do you do that?

User avatar
Lightbringer
General
Posts: 2973
Joined: May 23 2006
Location: Texas

#5 Post by Lightbringer » Feb 01 2008

It helps if they are both in the same stack to begin with (with ground stacks, I tell the entire stack to escort one of it's own units), but it is not necessary. Pause is pretty helpful too. Select the Ints you want to escort with and then right click on the bomber stack, "escort" is one of the options that will drop down. The list of units for the "bomber" stack will drop down, select the unit you want them to escort. If you are sending out multiple bomber squadrons, and want individual fighter escort, you will have to select each fighter unit separately and then give the escort commands that way.

Also, be aware of different range capabilities between the two units. The Ints won't commit hari kari, but the bombers could end up naked at the business end of their run.

hope this was what you needed :)

-Light
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery.” -Winston Churchill

geminif4ucorsair
General
Posts: 1286
Joined: Jun 08 2005

Carrier-based Squadrons vs Number of Planes

#6 Post by geminif4ucorsair » Jun 13 2008

tkobo wrote:I dont use vtol,but the actions should be the same, simply fly them out and land them on the carrier.

Be sure to ........AND capacity of carrier so you dont overload it.
Believe the SR2020 changed the way Carrier consider capacity and the manner in which the 'count' whether the carrier is to capacity or not....

a] SR2010 - carrier capacity is based on # of aircraft.....if my past use of
flying aircraft out to a carrier and landing them-on is any guide.....

b] SR2020 - believe this is changed to "Squadrons" onboard....ie, a Nimitz
class CVN might now be rated "6".....for six squadrons, not 75 (or whatever the number of aircraft might be in SR2010).....

so, it would be very each to error - especially when dealing with smaller carrier (say one owned by India or Brazil)....that could only accommodate 1 fixed wing and 1 helicopter squadron....

Goat want to comment?

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#7 Post by tkobo » Jun 13 2008

Dont know about sr2020, but in sr2010 the carrier capacity was based on number of units,not aircraft.

You could land 4 aircraft units with 1 aircraft on a carrier,or 4 units of over strengthed 24 aircraft on a carrier,either would fill the carriers capacity for aircraft if said capacity was 4.

If you tried to land 5 units that each consisted of 1 aircraft on a carrier with a capacity of 4,you would be overloading it.

Units, not number of aircraft was the measure for capacity in sr2010 for carriers.
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

Post Reply

Return to “Military - Defense and Operations Departments”