Space Units

Talk and Learn about the military aspects of the game.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Moderators

Message
Author
Doc
Sergeant
Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 04 2002

#1 Post by Doc » Jun 05 2002

I wonder if i will be able to equip space stations or statilates with missles? Or even if i could equip space ships with missles to shoot down those damn space stations.

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#2 Post by tkobo » Jun 05 2002

I agree.
I would love to see satlelites and anti-sat weapons in the game.
Modern warfare practically runs on satelite capability now,would be odd to not have them.

User avatar
BattleGoat
General
Posts: 1227
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

#3 Post by BattleGoat » Jun 05 2002

Rest assured, Satellites and Anti-Satellite weaponry will be part of Supreme Ruler 2010 (provided all goes as currently planned :smile:)
- David

User avatar
tkobo
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 11833
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: In a vast zionist plot ...RIGHT BEHIND YOU ! Oh Noes !

#4 Post by tkobo » Mar 28 2005

Satellites and Anti-Satellite weaponry are still in, but now done abstractly ?
This post approved by Tkobo:Official Rabble Rouser of the United Yahoos
Chuckle TM

dust off
General
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sep 23 2003
Location: UK

#5 Post by dust off » Mar 30 2005

Will satellites give blanket line of site over the world like in Civ?
Or will there be more to it, like obiting satelites priving a rotating los area, or being able to position spy satellites?

chris
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: May 01 2005
Location: midwest region u.s.a.
Contact:

cant wait

#6 Post by chris » May 01 2005

tell ya all what ive been spending alot of time reading up on this game sounds like i will be putting super power 2 in the game box and leaving it there . cant wait

User avatar
George Geczy
General
Posts: 2644
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

#7 Post by George Geczy » May 01 2005

Since this thread was 'bumped' back to the top, I thought I'd throw in a couple of comments :-)

Three types of satellite systems are in the game: Recon, Communicaitons, and Missile Defense.

Communicatons increases the efficiency of your military operations and units.

Recon improves your line of sight/spotting map-wide (sorry, no positioning satellites or daily 'sweeps' of coverage).

MDI is used to improve the chances of intercepting ICBM's and similar missile attacks.

Launching satellites requires researching the technologies, and building a launch pad (if you don't already have one).

Anti-Satellite weapons are not part of the game any longer.

-- George.

Baloogan
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 775
Joined: Aug 14 2004
Location: Canada, BC

#8 Post by Baloogan » May 02 2005

George Geczy wrote:daily 'sweeps' of coverage

Could we get this in a patch? your sats arn't realistic now :(

Empier4552
Board Admin
Posts: 327
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Contact:

#9 Post by Empier4552 » May 02 2005

Ehh just improves LoS? It would be nice if we had the option to snapshot certian areas of the map durign a given time of day like we could in real life or order a satellite to constantly orbit over a given area of the earth this would be great esp during war. As it stands I dont think id be using the satellite much?

BigStone
General
Posts: 1390
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#10 Post by BigStone » May 02 2005

Empier4552 wrote: As it stands I dont think id be using the satellite much?
I'm gonna to sell them.... :D

Cheers

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20331
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

#11 Post by Balthagor » May 02 2005

Actually, satellites cannot be sold. You can share LOS coverage through treaties but satellite transfers was never in the design.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com

User avatar
George Geczy
General
Posts: 2644
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

#12 Post by George Geczy » May 02 2005

Baloogan wrote:Could we get this in a patch? your sats arn't realistic now
While it might not be as realistic given a specific single event (ie, possibly trying to 'avoid' satellite detection by moving units in between the satellite passes), given the 'averages' of multiple satellites in the sky, and the fact that over a period of a couple of days you get full coverage, this works pretty well.

Obviously the more satellites in the sky, the better recon improvements you get.

-- George.

BigStone
General
Posts: 1390
Joined: Dec 22 2004
Location: Holland

#13 Post by BigStone » May 02 2005

Balthagor wrote:satellite transfers was never in the design.
Damn... there goes my plan for building a spaceindustry... :D

Cheers

aegisx
Colonel
Posts: 465
Joined: Mar 22 2005

#14 Post by aegisx » May 02 2005

CovertOps could be a way to disable sats.

imnotthatwierd
Captain
Posts: 127
Joined: May 02 2005
Location: London, UK

#15 Post by imnotthatwierd » May 02 2005

altho if you think about it...a covert op to bring down a sat, would only be a temporary measure, as the satelite wouldnt be fully taken out of operation...unless there was a self destruct button

altho temporary sat down-time can still give an opposing player the advantage of crossing an un-protected border due to worsened los

Post Reply

Return to “Military - Defense and Operations Departments”