Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

If you are experiencing technical problems with the forum, post them here.

Moderators: Legend, Balthagor, Empier4552, Moderators

Post Reply
Message
Author
Kristijonas
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 862
Joined: Nov 11 2011
Human: Yes

Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#1 Post by Kristijonas » Apr 23 2018

Check this out:
https://prnt.sc/j8u951 When I go to bgforums.com it autoamatically translates into this IP on any browsers I've tried. This has never happened with any other website for me. Ideas?

Nerei
General
Posts: 1069
Joined: Jan 11 2016
Human: Yes

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#2 Post by Nerei » Apr 23 2018

This is actually quite interesting. It happens to me when I type bgforums.com into the Safari URL bar but going through frequently visited or a bookmark it does not. Also if I go through frequently visited and log-in then go to the site by typing bgforums.com it will not recognise I am logged in.

Also I cannot make it happen in Chrome at all only in Safari.

number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#3 Post by number47 » Apr 23 2018

Nerei wrote:
Apr 23 2018
This is actually quite interesting. It happens to me when I type bgforums.com into the Safari URL bar but going through frequently visited or a bookmark it does not. Also if I go through frequently visited and log-in then go to the site by typing bgforums.com it will not recognise I am logged in.

Also I cannot make it happen in Chrome at all only in Safari.
Same here, the difference being that I use Firefox and Chrome...
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

Kristijonas
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 862
Joined: Nov 11 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#4 Post by Kristijonas » Apr 23 2018

Happens to me on 5 different browsers.

User avatar
Uriens
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 514
Joined: Oct 05 2005

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#5 Post by Uriens » Apr 23 2018

+1

number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#6 Post by number47 » May 04 2018

Chris, any statement from you guys?
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

Buzzbrad
BattleGoat Team
Posts: 131
Joined: Oct 17 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#7 Post by Buzzbrad » May 04 2018

number47 wrote:
May 04 2018
Chris, any statement from you guys?
We know it exists and are currently looking into it. It is an issue on our end.

number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#8 Post by number47 » May 04 2018

Thanks Buzzbrad!
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

number47
General
Posts: 2651
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#9 Post by number47 » Jun 15 2018

I'm still getting "your connection to this site is not secure" on bgforums.com...

Is this a permanent issue or just temporary (although, already been couple of months)?
Image
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr

GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2895
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#10 Post by GIJoe597 » Mar 01 2020

Old thread. However, I have had the issue of Chrome showing "not secure" as kristijonas posted in op. This issue has been ongoing for over a year. I have ignored it all that time. I would like to ask about it if it is still something you all are aware of and/or is it still something on your end as indicated by Mr LeDonne on 4 May, 2018?

User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20327
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

#11 Post by Balthagor » Mar 01 2020

Thanks for the reminder, I'll bring it up again.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com


Post Reply

Return to “Message Board Technical Problems”