Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

If you are experiencing technical problems with the forum, post them here.

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Empier4552, Moderators

Post Reply
Kristijonas
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 877
Joined: Nov 11 2011
Human: Yes

Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by Kristijonas »

Check this out:
https://prnt.sc/j8u951 When I go to bgforums.com it autoamatically translates into this IP on any browsers I've tried. This has never happened with any other website for me. Ideas?
Nerei
General
Posts: 1126
Joined: Jan 11 2016
Human: Yes

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by Nerei »

This is actually quite interesting. It happens to me when I type bgforums.com into the Safari URL bar but going through frequently visited or a bookmark it does not. Also if I go through frequently visited and log-in then go to the site by typing bgforums.com it will not recognise I am logged in.

Also I cannot make it happen in Chrome at all only in Safari.
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by number47 »

Nerei wrote:
Apr 23 2018
This is actually quite interesting. It happens to me when I type bgforums.com into the Safari URL bar but going through frequently visited or a bookmark it does not. Also if I go through frequently visited and log-in then go to the site by typing bgforums.com it will not recognise I am logged in.

Also I cannot make it happen in Chrome at all only in Safari.
Same here, the difference being that I use Firefox and Chrome...
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
Kristijonas
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 877
Joined: Nov 11 2011
Human: Yes

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by Kristijonas »

Happens to me on 5 different browsers.
User avatar
Uriens
Brigadier Gen.
Posts: 516
Joined: Oct 05 2005

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by Uriens »

+1
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by number47 »

Chris, any statement from you guys?
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
Buzzbrad
General
Posts: 131
Joined: Oct 17 2013
Human: Yes

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by Buzzbrad »

number47 wrote:
May 04 2018
Chris, any statement from you guys?
We know it exists and are currently looking into it. It is an issue on our end.
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by number47 »

Thanks Buzzbrad!
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
User avatar
number47
General
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sep 15 2011
Human: Yes
Location: X:913 Y:185

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by number47 »

I'm still getting "your connection to this site is not secure" on bgforums.com...

Is this a permanent issue or just temporary (although, already been couple of months)?
"If everyone is thinking alike, someone isn't thinking."
- General George Patton Jr
GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by GIJoe597 »

Old thread. However, I have had the issue of Chrome showing "not secure" as kristijonas posted in op. This issue has been ongoing for over a year. I have ignored it all that time. I would like to ask about it if it is still something you all are aware of and/or is it still something on your end as indicated by Mr LeDonne on 4 May, 2018?
User avatar
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Posts: 20519
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Human: Yes
Location: BattleGoat Studios

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by Balthagor »

Thanks for the reminder, I'll bring it up again.
Chris Latour
BattleGoat Studios
chris@battlegoat.com
GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by GIJoe597 »

Thank you.
GIJoe597
Board Admin
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sep 29 2008
Human: Yes
Contact:

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by GIJoe597 »

Follow up on this. The password I use for this site is unique and I use it no where else. I just received a e-mail trying to blackmail me for money. The email includes my pw for these forums. I will not be logging in any longer until the board security is resolved.

I may still be contacted via Steam or my email address.

Joe
User avatar
George Geczy
General
Posts: 2649
Joined: Jun 04 2002
Location: BattleGoat Studios
Contact:

Re: Forum IP is showing instead of the hostname

Post by George Geczy »

To be clear the lack of SSL in the website ("Not Secure") is not related to leaking of data such as passwords, at least not unless you are accessing in a public location where wifi or connections can be "sniffed".

We are not aware of data or password loss in the forum or a current exploitable situation but are investigating this report.

-- George.
Post Reply

Return to “Message Board Technical Problems”