open beta started

For general talk about Supreme Ruler 2010

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Jug
Sergeant

Post by Jug »

Does anyone know when the open beta testers will be notified?

Cheers,
Jug
XeroMan
Lt. Colonel

Post by XeroMan »

If we applied to the closed beta, but too late, will that count towards the open, or should I register again?
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler
Human: Yes

Post by Balthagor »

Most deffinitely register again! Better safe than sorry. Not sure when the notifications will go out but I believe the Open Beta is set to actually begin (download available) around beginning of Feb.
Mewshkin
Lieutenant

Post by Mewshkin »

Wahey! Might get in this time! Though I'm sort of scared cos I have no beta-testing experience whatsoever...
Balthagor
Supreme Ruler

Post by Balthagor »

Really, beta testing is not hard to do. There are a few things that we as a developer hope to get in the way of feedback. First, the beta allows us to have the program run on various machines, OS and configurations. This is important to look for crashes caused by flaws in certain company’s operating systems. :grin:

As for what to do when you get the beta? Have fun with it. We’ve been staring at the game for so long now that we start to take things for granted. Try weird things. See if there are logic flaws in some of the screens. Heck, some of the bug reports we got back where for simple spelling mistakes we’d made on screens we’ve looked at hundreds of times. You just get so used to your own product that you don’t catch the small things anymore. One of the products I beta tested in the past, as soon as I got it, I tried launching multiple runs of the game to see if it got confused. In another I found that if you hit esc to get the menu repeatedly, it opened the menu multiple times.