For general talk about Supreme Ruler 2010

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, Moderators

Dr. Godzilla
Private
Human: Yes

Newbie here

Post by Dr. Godzilla »

Hey guys,
So I bought this game 3 months ago, thinking that I would fall in love with it and possibly become a recluse, only venturing outside my room to eat and defecate. I enjoyed it at first, but I soon encountered a whole crap ton of things that irritated me. However, I think that I could get around all of those things, if I could find a solution to the big one. I hate micromanaging the military. Waging war is the whole reason I bought the game, but when I have to move and arm my units individually, I can't stand it. When I played as the US, which has thousands of units, I don't even know where to begin, so I invade Canada. And that's about it. I don't know how to launch amphibious or aerial operations, so that rules out anywhere else except Mexico, and really, who wants to invade Mexico. I played as other countries, but eventually encountered the same problems. So now I've decided to have another go at this game, but I'm becoming just as frustrated as before. If ANYONE has ANY tips or advice to help me out, I would Supremely appreciate it. Thanks!
NephilimNexus
Lieutenant

Re: Newbie here

Post by NephilimNexus »

Yes, the AI is generally poor at waging war - including your own AI when using your own units and so yes again you pretty much have to micromanage everything.

That being said, though, it can be done. Trust me on this.

First, if it all seems to much first remember that you can always set the time scale on Very Slow and keep a finger on the Pause key at all times.

Next, really, you don't need thousands of units. Or even hundreds. I've yet to run into a country that could not be taken down with nothing more than 35 infantry, about 8 tanks, 14 artillery, 7 long-range AA units, 7 supply trucks and 0 aircraft.

Here's some tricks to make it all easier: